problem with ultegra di2

Workshop tales, trials and disasters.
Maintenance tips, techniques and myths.
Technical discussion, description and outright lies

problem with ultegra di2

Postby OH DIO » Tue Jul 03, 2012 5:20 am

Hi guys I picked up my new bike yesterday its a brand new giant with the latest ultegra di2 and have noticed after fully charging the di2 battery it will only still display red when I try to do a battery test am I doing something wrong? or has anyone else had this problem? the LBS where I got the bike from said that it should be ok and haven't noticed this before
OH DIO

by BNA » Tue Jul 03, 2012 7:15 am

BNA

Re: problem with ultegra di2

Postby greyhoundtom » Tue Jul 03, 2012 7:15 am

While I have no specific experience with the Di2 electronic system, however as with all electronic systems where a battery and charger are involved, if the system shows the battery is not fully charged after charging it for a sufficient time, then there is a problem that needs to be sorted.

This could be in the charging circuit, the test setup, or the battery itself.

My suggestion is to have your LBS fully charge one of their Di2 batteries, take your bike in, swap batteries, and then see what the testing circuit shows.
greyhoundtom

Postby SpinninWheels » Tue Jul 03, 2012 8:13 am

How are you getting the system to show the charge?
Are you holding one of the shift levers for a second then releasing?
SpinninWheels

Postby greyhoundtom » Tue Jul 03, 2012 8:32 am

From the Park Tool site