Load POIs into a garmin 800

Workshop tales, trials and disasters.
Maintenance tips, techniques and myths.
Technical discussion, description and outright lies

Load POIs into a garmin 800

Postby Comedian » Sat Oct 06, 2012 10:14 am

I've just spent about an hour trying to load the locations of four train stations into a garmin 800. It's just about to go through the computer screen.

I've tried creating the locations as a kmz in google earth, and then using this tool to convert them to poi files. The I used poi loader to save them. Garmin POI loader then congratulates me... bravo. Go into the unit and there is no way known to actually find the points.

Any ideas?
Once you can climb hills on a bike it's all downhill. :mrgreen:

Hopefully I'll know what that's like..... one day. :shock: :lol:

Image
User avatar
Comedian
 
Posts: 4413
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2010 7:35 pm
Location: Brisbane

by BNA » Sat Oct 06, 2012 12:04 pm

BNA
 

Re: Load POIs into a garmin 800

Postby DaveOZ » Sat Oct 06, 2012 12:04 pm

Just add them on the Edge 800 without the computer. You can add a location in many ways.
Image
User avatar
DaveOZ
 
Posts: 1484
Joined: Sun Aug 08, 2010 10:15 am
Location: Bowral NSW

Re: Load POIs into a garmin 800

Postby Comedian » Sat Oct 06, 2012 8:02 pm

DaveOZ wrote:Just add them on the Edge 800 without the computer. You can add a location in many ways.

Unfortunately the reason why I want to add it is because they aren't in there.. so flying 100k away and trying to recognise the streets for half a dozen stations is time consuming and tedious. :(

I have done something like that... there is no easy way to add a POI it would appear. I won't get to it now.
Once you can climb hills on a bike it's all downhill. :mrgreen:

Hopefully I'll know what that's like..... one day. :shock: :lol:

Image
User avatar
Comedian
 
Posts: 4413
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2010 7:35 pm
Location: Brisbane

Re: Load POIs into a garmin 800

Postby Baalzamon » Sat Oct 06, 2012 9:14 pm

mapsource.... ie city navigator Aus will let you
Gonna cost you tho
Masi Speciale CX 2008 - Brooks B17 special saddle, Garmin Edge 810
Image
Baalzamon
 
Posts: 4692
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2007 1:23 pm
Location: Yangebup

Re: Load POIs into a garmin 800

Postby DaveOZ » Sun Oct 07, 2012 7:51 am

You're making it too complicated. You can't add POIs to the 800, they are brought in with maps. You can add LOCATIONS and use them as waypoints or destinations. You can easily do this on the unit itself.

1. Go to 'Where to?'
2. Select a method of input like 'Point on Map' or address and browse to the point you want to add. You could even use coordinates if you can find them off Google maps.
3. Drop the pin on the exact location you want.
4. Click and hold on the name on the banner until it turns blue.
5. Click the X with Flag at the bottom to add this as a Location.
5. Click on the Pencil button to edit the Name, Symbol, Comment etc.

Done

You can then select this Location as a waypoint or destination.

The user interface is utter crap and the documentation is worse but it can all be done.
Image
User avatar
DaveOZ
 
Posts: 1484
Joined: Sun Aug 08, 2010 10:15 am
Location: Bowral NSW

Re: Load POIs into a garmin 800

Postby Comedian » Mon Oct 08, 2012 7:15 am

Thanks.. I will give it a go!
Once you can climb hills on a bike it's all downhill. :mrgreen:

Hopefully I'll know what that's like..... one day. :shock: :lol:

Image
User avatar
Comedian
 
Posts: 4413
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2010 7:35 pm
Location: Brisbane

Re: Load POIs into a garmin 800

Postby rifraf » Sun Oct 21, 2012 12:51 am

Comedian wrote:Thanks.. I will give it a go!

Let us all know if it worked.
My 800 is all greek to me...... :oops:
If I dont take the manual with me on a ride I might as well not have it on the bike :lol:
Surly Ogre, Carry Freedom Y-frame Trailer, Extrawheel trailer.
User avatar
rifraf
 
Posts: 2551
Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2011 5:55 pm
Location: Two Rocks, WA

Re: Load POIs into a garmin 800

Postby Tim » Sun Oct 21, 2012 12:57 pm

rifraf wrote:My 800 is all greek to me...... :oops:


Stick with it Rifraf. After hours and hours of reading and mucking around it all starts to make a bit of sense, eventually.
Garmin certainly don't make it easy for a technological nuff nuff like me.
As a tourer (well, almost) the stuff I find most interesting is it's mapping, planning and tour playback capability.
Once you get a bit more familiar with the unit I highly recommend you download Garmin Basecamp to your computer. It doesn't cost anything. With the Basecamp software you can open up all the maps (in 3D if you want) loaded on the 800 and view them on a computer. Much larger scale than on the GPS screen. I assume your unit came supplied with extra mapping such as TOPO Aust rather than just the basic map.
It is quite amazing to be able to play back a ride or tour. You can do this either by signing up to Garmin Connect or with Basecamp. Garmin Connect only replays rides on Google Maps. Basecamp replays rides overlayed to the TOPO maps, its brilliant. When you become a little more advanced you can play back a tour on Google Earth. Tilt the Google Earth view and the playback looks as though a helicopter is following your course, it looks amazing
Basecamp allows you to view maps countrywide, plan and replay tours.
Hang in there. If I can sort it out anyone can.
User avatar
Tim
 
Posts: 895
Joined: Wed Jul 07, 2010 5:02 pm
Location: Gippsland Lakes

Re: Load POIs into a garmin 800

Postby rifraf » Mon Oct 22, 2012 11:43 am

Tim wrote:
rifraf wrote:My 800 is all greek to me...... :oops:


Stick with it Rifraf.


Cheers Tim,
now I've got the E-werk sorted out I no longer have to worry about the 800's batteries going flat
which rendered it useless for my last tour.
Yes it came with the Aus/NZ Topo maps courtesy of Rob at Highly Tuned Athletes.
Wow, that playback feature sounds amazing.
Thanks for the heads up :!:
Surly Ogre, Carry Freedom Y-frame Trailer, Extrawheel trailer.
User avatar
rifraf
 
Posts: 2551
Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2011 5:55 pm
Location: Two Rocks, WA


Return to The Shed

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: myway, r2160


PM Issues
Known Bug - error message displayed when sending PM's caused by tapatalk. Read more


Popular Bike Shops
Wiggle Wiggle UK
Ground Effect Ground Effect NZ
Ebay Ebay AU
Chain Reaction Cycles CRC UK

“Bicycles BNA Twitter
“Bicycles BNA Facebook
“Google+ BNA Google+
“Bicycles BNA Newsletter

> FREE BNA Stickers
> BNA Cycling Kit
cron