Shimano Freewheel on Record Hub

Workshop tales, trials and disasters.
Maintenance tips, techniques and myths.
Technical discussion, description and outright lies

Shimano Freewheel on Record Hub

Postby igstar » Mon Oct 22, 2012 9:01 am

As the topic suggests, is it possible to fit a Shimano Freewheel on a Record Hub?
igstar
 
Posts: 348
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2009 9:54 pm
Location: Melbourne

by BNA » Mon Oct 22, 2012 9:25 am

BNA
 

Re: Shimano Freewheel on Record Hub

Postby stanzarallyman » Mon Oct 22, 2012 9:25 am

no, but I believe you can get a campy freewheel with a shimano spline pattern.
stanzarallyman
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Thu Aug 26, 2010 11:38 am

Re: Shimano Freewheel on Record Hub

Postby jacks1071 » Mon Oct 22, 2012 10:06 am

I'm pretty sure you can get a 10sp Campy cassette to work fine with a Shimano groupset although I've never done it, that'd be your cheapest option.

The gear spacing is the same so other than some initial adjustments of the limit screws I can't see it being a problem.
Our Website is: http://www.pro-liteoz.com Find us on Facebook by searching for "Pro-Lite Australia"
User avatar
jacks1071
 
Posts: 2898
Joined: Thu Aug 20, 2009 9:47 pm
Location: Mackay, QLD

Re: Shimano Freewheel on Record Hub

Postby ironhanglider » Mon Oct 22, 2012 10:32 am

Stan and Deon have answered the question that you likely meant to ask. If you have a Record Freehub you would need to either get a Shimano pattern freehub body, or you can use different spacers to make a Campag Cassette mimic a Shimano Cassette or various other kludges.

The answer to the question that you actually asked is yes. Shimano freewheels and more recent (at least since the 70s) Campag hubs both used standard ISO threads, so a Shimano freewheel will screw straight on to a Record Hub. This supposes that you are dealing with 20+ year old equipment. (Sheldon on Freewheel vs Freehub)

http://www.sheldonbrown.com/freewheels.html

Cheers,

Cameron
ironhanglider
 
Posts: 1085
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2009 9:44 pm
Location: Bruce, ACT

Re: Shimano Freewheel on Record Hub

Postby petal665 » Mon Oct 22, 2012 12:21 pm

Depending on the age of your Record hubs, you buy the Campy freehub with Shimano spline (I'm sure that is what you meant anyway). The Campag one is hard to find but the Fulcrum one is EXACTLY the same and easy enough to get. I have one in my cupboard at home, but you can't have it. :)
Image
petal665
 
Posts: 1498
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2008 9:42 am
Location: Red Hill, Brisbane

Re: Shimano Freewheel on Record Hub

Postby igstar » Mon Oct 22, 2012 1:13 pm

Thanks for all your help. After doing some homework on the internet, it turns out the answer is no. While many wheel and hub manufecturers offer Shimano and Campag compatible freebodies to be fitted, Record hubs (2010) only allow Campag freebody. I think I'll just use the Campag cluster till I get a new wheel and see how it rolls.
igstar
 
Posts: 348
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2009 9:54 pm
Location: Melbourne

Re: Shimano Freewheel on Record Hub

Postby petal665 » Mon Oct 22, 2012 1:36 pm

Rubbish. This works on the current black record hubs, I have done it.
Image
petal665
 
Posts: 1498
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2008 9:42 am
Location: Red Hill, Brisbane

Re: Shimano Freewheel on Record Hub

Postby usernameforme » Mon Oct 22, 2012 2:51 pm

Get a Jtek shiftmate and use a campag cassette on your shimano group
I'm selling/swapping my Giant Defy Advanced see here
usernameforme
 
Posts: 882
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2011 7:01 pm
Location: Adelaide

Re: Shimano Freewheel on Record Hub

Postby toolonglegs » Mon Oct 22, 2012 3:00 pm

I used a 10 speed campy cassette on my disc rear wheel with a dura ace drive chain... Ran beautifully.
Image
User avatar
toolonglegs
 
Posts: 14355
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2007 7:49 pm
Location: Somewhere with padded walls and really big hills!

Re: Shimano Freewheel on Record Hub

Postby igstar » Mon Oct 22, 2012 4:21 pm

petal665 wrote:Rubbish. This works on the current black record hubs, I have done it.


I was just talking a to friend at work who had Fulcrum wheels and I remembered they are Campag owned company - I'll borrow the freehub off him to try it out.

toolonglegs wrote:I used a 10 speed campy cassette on my disc rear wheel with a dura ace drive chain... Ran beautifully.


And glad to hear this should work.
igstar
 
Posts: 348
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2009 9:54 pm
Location: Melbourne


Return to The Shed

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users



Popular Bike Shops
Torpedo 7 Torpedo7 AU
Ground Effect Ground Effect NZ
Chain Reaction Cycles CRC UK
Wiggle Wiggle UK
Ebay Ebay AU

“Bicycles BNA Twitter
“Bicycles BNA Facebook
“Google+ BNA Google+
“Bicycles BNA Newsletter

> FREE BNA Stickers
> BNA Cycling Kit