DuraAce 7400 cranks

User avatar
cycles gitane
Posts: 358
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2008 9:44 pm
Location: Near the Dandenong Creek cycle trail, Melbourne

DuraAce 7400 cranks

Postby cycles gitane » Mon Dec 17, 2012 9:55 pm

I have a DuraAce 7400 crankset on a frame, but I do not have a twin pin tool
to remove the dust caps. Any suggestions?
See below for the crank set.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/allenhopper/7298312874/

thanks
cycles gitane
There is NO room in the shed for the next bike! New shed rqd.

User avatar
familyguy
Posts: 5305
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2008 2:30 pm
Location: Cromer, NSW

Re: DuraAce 7400 cranks

Postby familyguy » Tue Dec 18, 2012 8:33 am

No BB pin spanner at your place?

You could try bracing the cranks (vise, padding) and use a blunt nail and a hammer to unscrew it. I wouldn't count on keeping them mint unless you use a proper tool, though.

Jim

User avatar
rkelsen
Posts: 4402
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2009 10:41 pm

Re: DuraAce 7400 cranks

Postby rkelsen » Tue Dec 18, 2012 10:13 am

Are they really in that tightly? How about a needle nose/circlip plier? Bent coathanger even?

User avatar
cycles gitane
Posts: 358
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2008 9:44 pm
Location: Near the Dandenong Creek cycle trail, Melbourne

Re: DuraAce 7400 cranks

Postby cycles gitane » Tue Dec 18, 2012 9:47 pm

Thanks for the suggestions.
Unable to locate the BB pin spanner, which I think would would be bigger than the holes.
Borrowed circlip pliers with small ends from a mate.
The caps were in tight.

cycles gitane
There is NO room in the shed for the next bike! New shed rqd.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users