Garmin 500 issue

Workshop tales, trials and disasters.
Maintenance tips, techniques and myths.
Technical discussion, description and outright lies

Garmin 500 issue

Postby jamesn184 » Sat Feb 16, 2013 8:59 am

Well in the last couple of weeks I've been having trouble with my Garmin, as my heart rate is all over the place.. even if it picks it up at all.
The HRM strap is barely 3months old and I thought it might be a battery but I have since replaced it and still the issue continues..
One thing I did notice was that I was getting what I think would be the right h/r reading going up Mt Buninyong yesterday but my speedo reading looked to be a little off...
I've also updated the firmware last night and alas the issue continues..
Image
jamesn184
 
Posts: 448
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2012 10:54 pm

by BNA » Sat Feb 16, 2013 10:39 am

BNA
 

Re: Garmin 500 issue

Postby Baalzamon » Sat Feb 16, 2013 10:39 am

Premium heart rate strap?
Masi Speciale CX 2008 - Brooks B17 special saddle, Garmin Edge 810
Image
Baalzamon
 
Posts: 4622
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2007 1:23 pm
Location: Yangebup

Re: Garmin 500 issue

Postby jamesn184 » Sat Feb 16, 2013 12:16 pm

yes its a premium hrm
Image
jamesn184
 
Posts: 448
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2012 10:54 pm

Re: Garmin 500 issue

Postby DaveOZ » Sat Feb 16, 2013 1:44 pm

"Premium" has to be the worst ever abuse of a word ever. They are rubbish.

I found I had to wear mine really high, like above my moobs to get it to work at all and it has to be really tight.

Try it in a few different positions, even spin it around so the transmitter is off centre. Try using ultrasound gel on the sensors. I think you can even use KY if you, errr, have some laying around.
Image
User avatar
DaveOZ
 
Posts: 1484
Joined: Sun Aug 08, 2010 10:15 am
Location: Bowral NSW

Re: Garmin 500 issue

Postby Ozkaban » Sat Feb 16, 2013 2:07 pm

One solution I've heard of is to replace the hrm strap with a polar wear link one. The transmitter pod buttons are compatible. So put the Garmin transmitter on the polar strap and it works.

I've got the polar strap in the mail (about $20) and will report back on progress...
Ozkaban
 
Posts: 1101
Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2011 1:18 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Garmin 500 issue

Postby jamesn184 » Sat Feb 16, 2013 2:44 pm

Could the fact that speed is being detected by gps alone? as it doesn't seem to be reading it from the magnet anymore
Image
jamesn184
 
Posts: 448
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2012 10:54 pm

Re: Garmin 500 issue

Postby Oscar.S » Sat Feb 16, 2013 5:56 pm

Could very well be the gps based speed, i run mine without a magnet and under significant tree cover e.g. when climbing in the dadnenongs my garmin 500 will autopause briefly regularly.
Oscar.S
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2013 4:14 pm

Re: Garmin 500 issue

Postby jamesn184 » Sat Feb 16, 2013 7:48 pm

I think mine started playing up when I went for a ride without a rear magnet and it may of stuffed it from there?

I do notice if I stop at lights the hr reading looks accurate
Image
jamesn184
 
Posts: 448
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2012 10:54 pm

Re: Garmin 500 issue

Postby a » Sat Feb 16, 2013 7:49 pm

I've had three garmins. 2 forerunners and the edge 500, and one warranty replacement. I kept getting he straps with the bundle in the hope it would improve/fix things. It hasn't. I've had all sorts of problems with the garmin premium heart rate strap and transmitter. Got a polar strap and things were better for a while. But all three of my transmitters are now unreliable. I've gone back to the basic strap. It works fine on the bike. Has some static issues with some of my running gear. I can live with that. Especially as I don't run much anymore.

.
a
 
Posts: 131
Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2009 12:23 pm

Re: Garmin 500 issue

Postby a » Sat Feb 16, 2013 7:52 pm

jamesn184 wrote:I think mine started playing up when I went for a ride without a rear magnet and it may of stuffed it from there?


Try using the little button/light on the speed and cadence sensor and make sure it pi is up the magnet.
a
 
Posts: 131
Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2009 12:23 pm

Re: Garmin 500 issue

Postby jamesn184 » Sun Feb 17, 2013 11:06 am

The cadence magnet lights up the sensor but all I get is a clicking sound with the magnet
Image
jamesn184
 
Posts: 448
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2012 10:54 pm

Re: Garmin 500 issue

Postby Leiothrix » Sun Feb 17, 2013 4:01 pm

You get a sound? That means it's rubbing somewhere, which is not good.
User avatar
Leiothrix
 
Posts: 176
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 5:25 pm
Location: Wollongong

Re: Garmin 500 issue

Postby kb » Sun Feb 17, 2013 6:05 pm

Leiothrix wrote:You get a sound? That means it's rubbing somewhere, which is not good.

Not necessarily. The Garmin wheel sensor has a very loud reed switch on my bike.
Image
User avatar
kb
 
Posts: 911
Joined: Sun Nov 13, 2011 2:22 pm

Re: Garmin 500 issue

Postby Leiothrix » Sun Feb 17, 2013 6:36 pm

I can't hear anything on mine, I figured it would be a hall effect sensor or coil though. I would not have thought that a reed switch would be able to keep up with the RPM of the wheel/crank, and that it would destroy itself as well due to the constant flexing. That and the physical size constraints. Could of course be wrong though.
User avatar
Leiothrix
 
Posts: 176
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 5:25 pm
Location: Wollongong

Re: Garmin 500 issue

Postby Mustang » Sun Feb 17, 2013 7:01 pm

I had my Garmin HR strap replaced under warranty, & its worked fine ever since. One thing that did happen with my battery is that if they are not 100% you can get intermittent readings. The battery tested full, but a fresh replacemnt fixed the problem.
Image
User avatar
Mustang
 
Posts: 1366
Joined: Tue Feb 02, 2010 8:20 am
Location: Little Mountain Q

Re: Garmin 500 issue

Postby jamesn184 » Sun Feb 17, 2013 8:11 pm

As I said I replaced the battery with a fresh one, I've moved the position on where the hrm sits slightly to the left and seems to have fixed it finger crossed.

How ever the issue still remains that I'm not getting a speed reading from the magnet setup
Image
jamesn184
 
Posts: 448
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2012 10:54 pm

Re: Garmin 500 issue

Postby kb » Mon Feb 18, 2013 6:21 am

Leiothrix wrote:I can't hear anything on mine, I figured it would be a hall effect sensor or coil though.

Now you've got me worried... got to find out where my clicking's coming from :-)
Image
User avatar
kb
 
Posts: 911
Joined: Sun Nov 13, 2011 2:22 pm

Re: Garmin 500 issue

Postby DoogleDave » Mon Feb 18, 2013 6:39 am

jamesn184 wrote:As I said I replaced the battery with a fresh one, I've moved the position on where the hrm sits slightly to the left and seems to have fixed it finger crossed.

How ever the issue still remains that I'm not getting a speed reading from the magnet setup


James,
Does the Garmin GSC-10 sensor successfully pair with the 500 unit and do you have the magnet aligned correctly with the sensor?

If not, read THIS, between pages 25-28 for instructions.

As for intermittent HRM issues, I have the standard HRM belt and it works OK most times but every now and again it will show exorbitant readings (like max HR of 250+) and this often happens in windy conditions - which from my research online seems to be common and the suspected culprit is static electricity caused from flapping jerseys in the wind (see page 32 of above instruction manual).

Dave
2012 Felt F75 | 105 | ProLite Braccianos | GP4000S
Image
User avatar
DoogleDave
 
Posts: 519
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2012 6:56 pm
Location: Taylors Hill, Victoria

Re: Garmin 500 issue

Postby Pravda » Mon Feb 18, 2013 1:22 pm

I've had problems with the hrm an speed/cadence not connecting. The solution which worms every time in my experience is to open up menus on the garmin while youte on the bike and go through the system setup in settings again. Just enter through all the screens and it should re sync with your hrm and speed. Be careful not to do it close to any other riders as it can detect the wrong units.

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 2
2011 Bianchi Via Nirone Veloce
Puegeot Aneto 105
Kona Jake the Snake CX
Raceline Keith Oliver Signature Edition
User avatar
Pravda
 
Posts: 424
Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2011 2:16 pm
Location: Perth NOR

Re: Garmin 500 issue

Postby jamesn184 » Mon Feb 18, 2013 6:32 pm

It's more the speed sensor as the cadence sensor works.

I've looked through the menu setup and its got the speed/cadence selected
Image
jamesn184
 
Posts: 448
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2012 10:54 pm

Re: Garmin 500 issue

Postby DoogleDave » Mon Feb 18, 2013 7:06 pm

Do you have access to another wheel magnet to try? Very unlikely but perhaps a faulty magnet?

Does the magnet line up with the sensors arm and how far does it pass from the arm?

Also, when you spin the wheel does the green light on the sensor light up as the magnet passes?
This only happens for the first 60 passes, then you need to press the reset button on the sensor unit for it to display the blinking LED's again for another 60 passes (red shows cadence magnet passing, green shows wheel magnet passing).

If this is not lighting, the sensor isn't picking up the magnet.
If it is lighting the green LED, then the sensor is working fine and it must be the comms between sensor and head unit.

Dave
2012 Felt F75 | 105 | ProLite Braccianos | GP4000S
Image
User avatar
DoogleDave
 
Posts: 519
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2012 6:56 pm
Location: Taylors Hill, Victoria

Re: Garmin 500 issue

Postby Baalzamon » Mon Feb 18, 2013 9:08 pm

DoogleDave wrote:Do you have access to another wheel magnet to try? Very unlikely but perhaps a faulty magnet? :roll:

Does the magnet line up with the sensors arm and how far does it pass from the arm?

Also, when you spin the wheel does the green light on the sensor light up as the magnet passes?
This only happens for the first 60 passes, then you need to press the reset button on the sensor unit for it to display the blinking LED's again for another 60 passes (red shows cadence magnet passing, green shows wheel magnet passing).

If this is not lighting, the sensor isn't picking up the magnet.
If it is lighting the green LED, then the sensor is working fine and it must be the comms between sensor and head unit.

Dave


Faulty magnet, simple does it stick to metal. The cadence sensor dies every 18 months or so I've found, generally starts off with the speed sensor. It is only connected with a very thin wire.
Masi Speciale CX 2008 - Brooks B17 special saddle, Garmin Edge 810
Image
Baalzamon
 
Posts: 4622
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2007 1:23 pm
Location: Yangebup

Re: Garmin 500 issue

Postby jamesn184 » Tue Feb 19, 2013 3:56 am

I have 2 wheelsets and neither magnet that I've seen lights up the sensor, only the cadence one does light it up red

And both a setup so it's as close as it can get without hitting the sensor arm
Image
jamesn184
 
Posts: 448
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2012 10:54 pm

Re: Garmin 500 issue

Postby Ozkaban » Tue Feb 19, 2013 9:46 am

I can't help with the GPS issues (and my GSC10 has gone cactus recently).

On the erratic HRM issue, I have received the Polar Wearlink strap and have given it a short test this morning on the way to work. The buttons are about 1-2mm wider on the strap than on the garmin transmitter but it clips in no probs and is reasonably secure. The heart rate was picked up immediately and was stable. I didn't bother wetting it as I normally do with the garmin strap as I wanted to see if it would have problems.

It's more comfortable than the garmin strap and so far the HR has been flawless.

It cost me $20 here (appears to be $22.50 at the moment).

Obviously one 10km ride doesn't constitute any sort of conclusive test, but I'm happy so far and will continue testing...
Ozkaban
 
Posts: 1101
Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2011 1:18 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Garmin 500 issue

Postby visrealm » Wed Feb 20, 2013 2:03 pm

kb wrote:
Leiothrix wrote:I can't hear anything on mine, I figured it would be a hall effect sensor or coil though.

Now you've got me worried... got to find out where my clicking's coming from :-)


The clicking is normal.. I have two bikes, both with the GSC-10 and they both do it as the magnet passes the sensor - it's fairly minor and can only hear it on the stand though. Absolutely not touching anything.
'12 Avanti Cadent 1.0 (Roadie)
'13 Specialized Secteur Disc (Commuter)
'04 Giant Yukon (MTB)
User avatar
visrealm
 
Posts: 175
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2012 10:48 am
Location: South Australia

Next

Return to The Shed

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], human909



Popular Bike Shops
Torpedo 7 Torpedo7 AU
Ground Effect Ground Effect NZ
Chain Reaction Cycles CRC UK
Wiggle Wiggle UK
Ebay Ebay AU

“Bicycles BNA Twitter
“Bicycles BNA Facebook
“Google+ BNA Google+
“Bicycles BNA Newsletter

> FREE BNA Stickers
> BNA Cycling Kit