Changing chain rings

Cicada

Changing chain rings

Postby Cicada » Tue Feb 19, 2013 3:13 pm

Hi all,

Firstly apologies if this is in the wrong section, mods please feel free to move it.

Secondly, I am pretty new to this, been commuting for about 18 months after having not ridden since I was a kid, so if what I am proposing is ridiculous or any info I have given seems incorrect, please feel free to suggest something else.

OK, so I have an old Giant road bike currently used as a commuter that I am about to upgrade. It is old and very ordinary, but I would still like to use this bike as a back-up, however my issue is the chain rings. I recently moved to a very hilly area in the Dandenongs, as such my commute now finishes with about 3km of fairly taxing (for me anyway) uphill climb.

The Giant has a 52/42T double, which from what I have been able to gather, is larger than what would be considered standard.(?)
What I am wondering is if I would be able to swap this out for say, a 50/34T or something similar with a view to getting up the hills easier? I would be happy to replace the whole crank set at at the same time as the existing one appears to be damaged and is sliping out of the bracket.

I don't really know what is involved, so I guess that is what I'm here for. Can I do this without changing the front derallieur? What components would I need to replace? Is it a relatively easy job or not so much? What indicators do I need to look for to know what parts will be compatible when looking to buy?

here are some photos for info...

I pass it over to the brains trust! Any info would be much appreciated, thanks guys!!

simonn

Re: Changing chain rings

Postby simonn » Tue Feb 19, 2013 3:25 pm