Installing a carbon railed saddle

Workshop tales, trials and disasters.
Maintenance tips, techniques and myths.
Technical discussion, description and outright lies

Installing a carbon railed saddle

Postby jamesn184 » Sat Aug 24, 2013 7:43 pm

I've recently picked up a fizik carbon railed saddle and just wanted to know if I needed a special clamp if I was to pair such saddle with a http://www.wiggle.co.uk/ritchey-wcs-carbon-seat-post-ud-finish-2011/
Image
jamesn184
 
Posts: 446
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2012 10:54 pm

by BNA » Sat Aug 24, 2013 7:46 pm

BNA
 

Re: Installing a carbon railed saddle

Postby trailgumby » Sat Aug 24, 2013 7:46 pm

I've sometimes wondered about this, but I think the answer is no, nothing special. Just pay attention to the manufacturer's notes on rail clamp bolt torque maximums if they have them specified. However, I think this is is normally the province of the post manufacturer.
"People have a right to their own opinions, but not their own facts. Evidence must be located, not created, and opinions not backed by evidence cannot be given much weight." -- James W Loewen

http://www.facebook.com/Drive2WorkDay
User avatar
trailgumby
 
Posts: 9895
Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2009 4:30 pm
Location: Northern Beaches, Sydney

Re: Installing a carbon railed saddle

Postby Duck! » Sat Aug 24, 2013 7:54 pm

If they're round rails, no, you do not need a special clamp, just be sure to keep the clamp within the limit marks on the rails. Some carbon rails are 7mm x 9mm oval section; these require specific clamps.
I had a thought, but it got run over as it crossed my mind.
Duck!
Expert
 
Posts: 1370
Joined: Tue May 21, 2013 8:21 pm
Location: On The Tools

Re: Installing a carbon railed saddle

Postby DoubleSpeeded » Sat Aug 24, 2013 8:02 pm

yeh, dont be fooled by "oooh carbon, ..rolls royce of saddles....lets get it!"

it happened to me before and i had to exchange it for a Titanium railed version.

the Two things you need to watch out for:

1.) Titanium or steel rails are round in diameter.
alot of the Carbon saddles are oval shaped.
You may need a new clamp that is suited to carbon saddles.

2.) Depending on the type of bike which you did not specify.
if its a MTB or Road bike that has a cylindrical seat post.. i think ritchey sell a retro fit carbon clamp/conversion.

but if it was like me... my TT bike had an Aero Carbon seat post that is specific to the bike brand.. not a universal cylindrical . and the clamp is also specific to the brand of bike... and the manufacturer did not design or make a clamp to suit carbon saddles.

pictured:

Image


as you can See, Quintana Roo supplied the Adamo which is round titanium...

several people online have actually drilled out the clamp to suit the carbon saddles... but i would not recommend this as it is not manufacturer intended and can be a hazard to your health if something goes wrong
DoubleSpeeded
 
Posts: 440
Joined: Sat Jul 13, 2013 6:18 pm

Re: Installing a carbon railed saddle

Postby giantcfr1 » Wed Sep 04, 2013 11:36 pm

DoubleSpeeded wrote:...
alot of the Carbon saddles are oval shaped
...

This is correct, in fact the instructions that came with my Fizik saddle states you MUST use a clamp compatible with the oval shape.
giantcfr1
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 11:08 pm
Location: Kyoto, JAPAN originally Gold Coast, QLD


Return to The Shed

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users



Support BNA
Click for online shops
Torpedo 7 Torpedo7 AU
Ground Effect Ground Effect NZ
Chain Reaction Cycles CRC UK
Wiggle Wiggle UK
Cycling Express Cycling Express
Ebay Ebay AU
ProBikeKit ProBikeKit UK
Evans Cycles Evans Cycles UK
JensonUSA Jenson USA
JensonUSA Competitive Cyclist