Garmin 500 problem - lost satellite reception

Workshop tales, trials and disasters.
Maintenance tips, techniques and myths.
Technical discussion, description and outright lies

Garmin 500 problem - lost satellite reception

Postby Ross » Sat Jan 18, 2014 5:15 pm

Went for a ride today in an area I've ridden dozens of times before but today as I ws riding along my Garmin lost satellite reception. Sky was near cloudless and there was no tree cover. I pressed the stop and then start button and after a minute or so the reception improved. Later in the ride this happened again but I didn't stop or restart this time and the screen display kept telling me for the rest of the ride (about 30 minutes) that I had no reception but when I got home and uploaded to Strava the complete ride was there as per normal. Any ideas what's going on? Garmin unit is only a few months old and has performed flawlessly up until today.
Image
User avatar
Ross
 
Posts: 3383
Joined: Sat Nov 07, 2009 7:53 pm

by BNA » Sat Jan 18, 2014 5:39 pm

BNA
 

Re: Garmin 500 problem - lost satellite reception

Postby Duck! » Sat Jan 18, 2014 5:39 pm

Have you deleted your old ride data after offloading it to Strava or wherever? They can go a bit mental when the memory fills up.
I had a thought, but it got run over as it crossed my mind.
Duck!
Expert
 
Posts: 1370
Joined: Tue May 21, 2013 8:21 pm
Location: On The Tools

Re: Garmin 500 problem - lost satellite reception

Postby cancan64 » Sat Jan 18, 2014 5:52 pm

Funny my garmen 500 done the same thing... I pulled over, turned it off and back in and didn't have a problem for the rest of the ride.... Maybe there I'd a harken conspiracy happening

Sent from my GT-I9305T using Tapatalk
Image
User avatar
cancan64
 
Posts: 151
Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2013 8:13 pm
Location: Brisbane/Roma

Re: Garmin 500 problem - lost satellite reception

Postby Dr_Mutley » Sat Jan 18, 2014 11:03 pm

It's not uncommon for the GPS chip to lift away from the PCB in the 500s... Do all the simple software related things first, then if u have no luck, pull the back off and have a look...
Image
Dr_Mutley
 
Posts: 2048
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 1:28 pm
Location: Flagstaff Hill, Adelaide SA 5159

Re: Garmin 500 problem - lost satellite reception

Postby Ross » Sun Jan 19, 2014 5:26 am

Duck! wrote:Have you deleted your old ride data after offloading it to Strava or wherever? They can go a bit mental when the memory fills up.


Yep. Only ride in Garmin was the one I was currently doing.
Image
User avatar
Ross
 
Posts: 3383
Joined: Sat Nov 07, 2009 7:53 pm

Re: Garmin 500 problem - lost satellite reception

Postby Ross » Sun Jan 19, 2014 10:04 am

Didn't do it on today's ride, must of been a one-off glitch. Hopefully.
Image
User avatar
Ross
 
Posts: 3383
Joined: Sat Nov 07, 2009 7:53 pm

Re: Garmin 500 problem - lost satellite reception

Postby queequeg » Sun Jan 19, 2014 10:13 am

happened to me on Friday too. it has done it a few times over the last 4 years, and I find that turning it off and back on fixes it, otherwise it sits there trying to find a satellite for the rest of the ride.
'11 Lynskey Cooper CX, '00 Hillbrick Steel Racing (Total Rebuild '10), '09 Electra Townie Original 21D
User avatar
queequeg
 
Posts: 2536
Joined: Thu Dec 17, 2009 9:09 am

Re: Garmin 500 problem - lost satellite reception

Postby Duck! » Sun Jan 19, 2014 12:27 pm

It could be that there weren't enough satellites in the ideal field of reception for your unit to pick up properly. There are stacks of the things floating around up there, so such a dropout is pretty rare, but not impossible.
I had a thought, but it got run over as it crossed my mind.
Duck!
Expert
 
Posts: 1370
Joined: Tue May 21, 2013 8:21 pm
Location: On The Tools

Re: Garmin 500 problem - lost satellite reception

Postby warthog1 » Sun Jan 19, 2014 12:37 pm

Mine has done what you describe maybe 4 times in the 18 months or so I've had it. No rhyme or reason to it I can see. Last time was a couple of weeks ago, been fine since.
User avatar
warthog1
 
Posts: 2233
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 4:40 pm

Re: Garmin 500 problem - lost satellite reception

Postby Aushiker » Sun Jan 19, 2014 5:21 pm

If you do a search you will find it is fairly common problem it seems ... I had one of Edge 800 have to go back because of this problem ... eventually gave up on the replacement which started doing the same thing and brought a Edge 810.

Andrew
"Pedal-pounding pounce" - D. Fluellen - West Australian 13/1/14
Image
User avatar
Aushiker
 
Posts: 19395
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2007 1:55 pm
Location: Fremantle, WA

Re: Garmin 500 problem - lost satellite reception

Postby macca33 » Sun Jan 19, 2014 5:55 pm

Had it occur to me twice in around 300 rides. First time I ignored it and the cadence/speed sensor calculated the distance, but the satellite track was AWOL.

Second time I stopped and allowed it to re-acquire satellites and it was fine from thereon.

cheers
'dale CAAD10 - Ultegra6700 | CAAD10 Team - DA7800

Image
macca33
 
Posts: 663
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2012 11:05 pm
Location: West Gippy

Re: Garmin 500 problem - lost satellite reception

Postby warthog1 » Fri Jan 31, 2014 1:14 pm

Did it again a couple of times last week. Each time I pressed enter and it seemed to work again. It is a PITA, if it kept doing it I reckon it would be punished severly. It would probably meet the same fate as my old polar cs200 :x
User avatar
warthog1
 
Posts: 2233
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 4:40 pm

Re: Garmin 500 problem - lost satellite reception

Postby Dr_Mutley » Fri Jan 31, 2014 1:50 pm

Save the setting file off the unit, then do a master reset... Update or reload the firmware, then see place the settings file... See if that helps...
Image
Dr_Mutley
 
Posts: 2048
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 1:28 pm
Location: Flagstaff Hill, Adelaide SA 5159

Re: Garmin 500 problem - lost satellite reception

Postby wizardhat » Wed Feb 12, 2014 8:12 am

My 500 was perfect up until 3 weeks ago, now it loses GPS lock 5 or 6 times a ride on one day, but then is perfect the next. I've tried all the software related fixes so I guess I'm going to have to pull the back off and see if the GPS chip has come loose.

Aushiker wrote:If you do a search you will find it is fairly common problem it seems ... I had one of Edge 800 have to go back because of this problem ... eventually gave up on the replacement which started doing the same thing and brought a Edge 810.

Andrew
Has your 810 had any problems since you got it? If I have to replace my 500 I want to replace it with something not afflicted by this :(
Image
User avatar
wizardhat
 
Posts: 176
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2012 1:25 pm

Re: Garmin 500 problem - lost satellite reception

Postby warthog1 » Wed Feb 12, 2014 1:33 pm

Dr_Mutley wrote:Save the setting file off the unit, then do a master reset... Update or reload the firmware, then see place the settings file... See if that helps...


Sorry didn't read this 'til now, thanks :)
It hasn't done it again since :? I'll leave it alone whilst it behaves.
User avatar
warthog1
 
Posts: 2233
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 4:40 pm

Re: Garmin 500 problem - lost satellite reception

Postby Aushiker » Wed Feb 12, 2014 1:50 pm

wizardhat wrote:Has your 810 had any problems since you got it? If I have to replace my 500 I want to replace it with something not afflicted by this :(


At risk of bring the Garmin God down on my head, no :)

Andrew
"Pedal-pounding pounce" - D. Fluellen - West Australian 13/1/14
Image
User avatar
Aushiker
 
Posts: 19395
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2007 1:55 pm
Location: Fremantle, WA


Return to The Shed

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users



Support BNA
Click for online shops
Torpedo 7 Torpedo7 AU
Ground Effect Ground Effect NZ
Chain Reaction Cycles CRC UK
Wiggle Wiggle UK
Cycling Express Cycling Express
Ebay Ebay AU
ProBikeKit ProBikeKit UK
Evans Cycles Evans Cycles UK
JensonUSA Jenson USA
JensonUSA Competitive Cyclist