Pedal Upgrade

Workshop tales, trials and disasters.
Maintenance tips, techniques and myths.
Technical discussion, description and outright lies

Pedal Upgrade

Postby Chuckles1981 » Tue Jul 22, 2008 3:31 pm

I just bought some crank brothers smarty pedals and shoes from T-7 :D

As i have never used clipless before or installed them..
:oops:
are the aything tip and hints u guys can give me???

Like which way to loosen the old pedals and how to install the cleats etc..
thansk guys :D
NOW
Trek 7.5 FX
Jamis Ranger 3.0

NEXT
Giant Trance X1
Chuckles1981

by BNA » Tue Jul 22, 2008 4:08 pm

BNA

Postby aleg75 » Tue Jul 22, 2008 4:08 pm

oh no, you wont like those, you had better send them to me :wink:

Have you got a pedal spanner? or an open ended spanner that is long? perhaps the hardest part of changing pedals is getting the old ones off. Use your new pedals as a guide, one is for the left and one is for the right.....check which way the treads go so you know which way to turn the old ones to get them off. Hope that helps....

Cleats, can be a bit of trial and error here, put them on your shoes and see how they feel, some minor adjusting might have to be done to position them better.

The pedals should also have a switch/screw for making it easier/hard to get the cleat out, make it loose so you can get used to having to get the feet in and out.

keep some band aids close! havent heard of many people not crashing when they first go to cleats (myself included).

Ash
aleg75

Postby vx255 » Tue Jul 22, 2008 5:04 pm

aleg75 wrote:The pedals should also have a switch/screw for making it easier/hard to get the cleat out, make it loose so you can get used to having to get the feet in and out.
Ash

Crank brothers do not have any adjustments of any type, stomp and ride.

CB Vanilla, Candy and Quattro user here :wink:
Striving for mediocrity.
vx255

Postby aleg75 » Tue Jul 22, 2008 6:08 pm

vx255 wrote: