Magellan Cyclo 505

wicksey
Posts: 120
Joined: Wed Oct 28, 2009 12:29 pm

Re: Magellan Cyclo 505

Postby wicksey » Tue Nov 14, 2017 3:44 pm

Awesome price on the Cyclo 500.

$79.20 + delivery including an Echo Fit Sports Watch (discount shows at checkout)

https://www.boxlots.com.au/products/mag ... 7621563856

octagonalman
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 7:36 pm

Re: Magellan Cyclo 505

Postby octagonalman » Tue Nov 14, 2017 10:01 pm

I'm not feeling the love for my Cyclo 500. I've found that there's a lot more effort involved to start logging (push button, wait for boot, push touchscreen without gloves) than my Garmin Virb single hardware switch. For navigation, the more comprehensive mapping available on Android apps shows its superiority over the limited routes with OSM. It's cheap but it's also taking up valuable handlebar real estate!

User avatar
PiratePete
Posts: 628
Joined: Thu Sep 25, 2014 9:04 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Contact:

Re: Magellan Cyclo 505

Postby PiratePete » Tue Nov 21, 2017 12:45 pm

I've been off the bike for a few months due to a knee injury, part of comping back has included the addition of a PowerTap P1 dual sided power meter. Installed it and paired it with my now standard Wahoo ELEMNT. After a few rides and digesting all the additional data my history with the Cyclo 505 kicked in and I was compelled to give it a run with the PM. I'm really pleased to report that it detected and paired with the PowerTap first go (via ANT+). It also performed over the test ride with acceptable total power data without any dropouts or issues. The only real negative noted is that the 505 only reports total combined power rather than giving separate left/right information.

I won't be rushing back to using the 505 though, particularly as the reason for the PM was for left/right data as my knee recovers.

For reference the 505 which I charged and used is running on 4.10, This wasn't planned, I just grabbed the first 505 I found in the drawer. But I assume if it worked on the really old fw that connectivity would still be the same on the newer fw versions. I would suspect that average power stats would be effected by the same bug which effects Avg Speed where sometimes the clock doesn't stop when you become stationary which was introduced in 4.2x and may possibly have been resolved in 4.4.7 (not tested or verified by me).

Posted this due to the high percentage of folks with PM's who were on the now defunct CycloGPS forum who seemed to have nothing but issues with power meters and the Cyclo.
2015 Specialized Diverge Carbon Expert
2013 Giant Reign MTB.
Pirate Pete on Instagram

octagonalman
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 7:36 pm

Re: Magellan Cyclo 505

Postby octagonalman » Sun Nov 26, 2017 11:05 am

Has anyone been able to properly wipe the device to remove personal information? "Back to factory" and "Restore default" under Product Info still leave user profiles, sensor pairings and past navigation destinations behind.

User avatar
PiratePete
Posts: 628
Joined: Thu Sep 25, 2014 9:04 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Contact:

Re: Magellan Cyclo 505

Postby PiratePete » Mon Nov 27, 2017 5:45 pm

octagonalman wrote:Has anyone been able to properly wipe the device to remove personal information? "Back to factory" and "Restore default" under Product Info still leave user profiles, sensor pairings and past navigation destinations behind.


I'm a bit rusty on it now, but I thought a factory reset did just that??? But if you connect to the agent and let it perform a restore the settings and history would come back.

Otherwise the easiest way to completely zero the the unit would be to delete the file systems on the unit (after copying them elsewhere of course). Then connect to the Cyclo agent, it will register that the filesystem is incomplete and download a new image to it. Just don't restore the back up.
2015 Specialized Diverge Carbon Expert
2013 Giant Reign MTB.
Pirate Pete on Instagram

adamadam
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2016 9:17 pm

Re: Magellan Cyclo 505

Postby adamadam » Mon Nov 27, 2017 7:26 pm

Just got my Cyclo 500 and realised that it won't pair to my bluetooth powermeter :(

Bluetuxman
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2017 5:42 pm

Re: Magellan Cyclo 505

Postby Bluetuxman » Tue Dec 26, 2017 5:48 pm

My 505 was working reliably for years aside from some early issues with the Bluetooth service failing that went away. After updating my phone it didn't work with SMS integration so I went to the latest firmware yesterday after backing up.

Unfortunately now not only did my cadence sensor and power meter [PowerTap F3] stop being detected but I can't even add the power meter back as it is now missing as an option under sensors.

Does anyone know how to roll back the firmware or manually edit the config file to reconnect the Power meter or am I going to have to buy a Wahoo?

awinner
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Dec 17, 2017 4:42 pm

Re: Magellan Cyclo 505

Postby awinner » Fri Jan 12, 2018 8:58 pm

My 505 failed before xmas, rang magellan support and they offered to fix it for $50. Sent it in, couple of weeks later I got a brand new 505 because they could'nt fix the old one.

User avatar
cancan64
Posts: 1540
Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2013 9:13 pm
Location: Auckland

Re: Magellan Cyclo 505

Postby cancan64 » Mon Jan 15, 2018 10:30 am

Used mine as a GPS on the motorbike last week...worked a treat...
“Some say he isn’t machine washable, and all his potted plants are called ‘Steve’.

piledhigher
Posts: 273
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2012 11:10 am

Re: Magellan Cyclo 505

Postby piledhigher » Mon Jan 15, 2018 10:41 am

cancan64 wrote:Used mine as a GPS on the motorbike last week...worked a treat...


Picked up a few KOMs on strava? :)

User avatar
cancan64
Posts: 1540
Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2013 9:13 pm
Location: Auckland

Re: Magellan Cyclo 505

Postby cancan64 » Mon Jan 15, 2018 10:52 am

piledhigher wrote:Picked up a few KOMs on strava? :)


I might have picked a few up if I recorded it... I did out of curiosity record my ride when I took it to the drags once but discovered that there was a crit ride that used the drag strip so logged the ride as electric bike... I was crossing the 1/4 mile at over 200km/hr but avg speed was 31.4 and top recorded was 112 km/hr... GPS was a bit slow and picking it up https://www.strava.com/activities/495458700
“Some say he isn’t machine washable, and all his potted plants are called ‘Steve’.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: AUbicycles