Page 11 of 15

Re: Magellan Cyclo 505

Posted: Wed May 10, 2017 1:50 pm
by ball bearing
fab4272 wrote:Little bit more on this. My WIn10 PC detects the unit, but cannot work out what it is, so it doesn't mount it as a drive.

Same in Linux, the OS detects it, but can't work it out.

I have a feeling is has something to do with formatting it as a NTFS system. Still, I feel that even if I can fix this, then my install of Win10 will not work as it has the latest Win10 creator on it.

Mine worked perfectly before the Creator update. No big deal as I just use wifi to upload my ride. The problem is I can't check for updates.

Re: Magellan Cyclo 505

Posted: Tue May 23, 2017 4:32 pm
by fab4272
Ended up sending mine back in for repair. Cost was $130, but i ended up getting what looks like a brand new unit. The old one was most likely damaged.

Re: Magellan Cyclo 505

Posted: Wed May 24, 2017 8:38 pm
by iAMpO
Hey Guys

I was considering trying a Cyclo 505 HC imported from the US, as local pricing is even sillier than ridiculous. But from what I can glean reading here and elsewhere, Magellan are region restricting units to protect predatory regional pricing so it wouldn't be possible to either register a US purchased unit in AU or install AU maps?

Can someone confirm please?

Thanks.

Re: Magellan Cyclo 505

Posted: Wed May 24, 2017 9:00 pm
by RonK
You would be wasting your money. Maps cannot be changed.

You should be able to get one locally cheaply.

Re: Magellan Cyclo 505

Posted: Wed May 24, 2017 9:24 pm
by iAMpO
Thanks.

No. Prices locally are absurd. No promos ATM either, which are still gouging compared to what I can buy the 505 HC for ex US. No problem. Simply means Magellan => no sale. All good.

Re: Magellan Cyclo 505

Posted: Thu May 25, 2017 9:52 am
by SheikYerbouti
Promos have been excellent. Many people got their 505s when they went to $199 for a couple of months.

Re: Magellan Cyclo 505 - DON'T BUY!

Posted: Thu May 25, 2017 11:16 pm
by RNYerby
I just bought a Cyclo 505 that I'm going to return. There were no maps loaded on it. The Surprise Me function does not work. When I tried to connect to Magellan to download a map, I got an error that the device had already been registered to another account. Magellan online support says this is a known problem, that it doesn't necessarily mean that the device has already been registered. Magellan can offer no timeframe for getting that problem fixed. Unless it's fixed, I can't do anything on my Cyclo that requires a map. I also can't get it ot pair with the Garmin magnetless sensors (some forums say it should, others say it won't, my experience is that it won't). Magellan's best advice was to return the Cyclo 505 to the retailer I bought it from.

I'm really disappointed. I like the way it works while riding and displaying data. I really wanted it to work. It's tremendously cheaper than a Garmin with similar capabilities.

If anyone here has an alternative to the Garmins to suggest, I'd appreciate it.

Rodney

Re: Magellan Cyclo 505

Posted: Fri May 26, 2017 6:54 am
by RonK
Many disillusioned former Cyclo owners have moved on to the Wahoo Elemnt.

Re: Magellan Cyclo 505

Posted: Sun May 28, 2017 3:04 pm
by Paul B
Any good deals going on the Elemnt currently ? (not the Bolt).

Re: Magellan Cyclo 505

Posted: Thu Jun 01, 2017 11:44 am
by ball bearing
ball bearing wrote:Mine worked perfectly before the Creator update. No big deal as I just use wifi to upload my ride. The problem is I can't check for updates.


Do NOT update to Windows 10 Creators Update - version 1703 2017-05-23 00:50:23
We have had a number of customers contacting us since then notifying us that, after their update - they are unable to get their Cyclo devices recognized on their PC.

We are investigating this issue and strongly suggest not update to Windows 10 Creators Update - version 1703 at this moment.

Affected models: Cyclo 505/500/315/310.

https://www.mioshare.com/news/detail?newsid=17

Re: Magellan Cyclo 505

Posted: Fri Jun 02, 2017 5:02 pm
by PiratePete
It will be interesting to see how/when/if this issue is resolved. My discussion a little while ago with the AU product manager lead this once very pro Cyclo user to move on to a ELEMNT.

I haven't looked back since. The only thing the ELEMNT lacks is the ability to correct my error if I go off course. This has not been an issue, as when this has occurred a quick look at the map screen has shown me the way.

Clear, crisp display, a real 15 plus hour battery, great routing with thanks to RWGPS, user customized cues, and the ability to export data to Training Peaks, Strava, RWGPS, Dropbox (for backups) and more, has made this device a pleasure to live with.

Oh and Strava works with it too, displays temps and elevation from the device...

I have two Cyclo 505 both now gathering dust.

Re: Magellan Cyclo 505

Posted: Sun Jun 04, 2017 6:16 pm
by jaythefordman
ball bearing wrote:
ball bearing wrote:Mine worked perfectly before the Creator update. No big deal as I just use wifi to upload my ride. The problem is I can't check for updates.


Do NOT update to Windows 10 Creators Update - version 1703 2017-05-23 00:50:23
We have had a number of customers contacting us since then notifying us that, after their update - they are unable to get their Cyclo devices recognized on their PC.

We are investigating this issue and strongly suggest not update to Windows 10 Creators Update - version 1703 at this moment.

Affected models: Cyclo 505/500/315/310.

https://www.mioshare.com/news/detail?newsid=17


Oh !! BAN ME NOW FOR SWEARING !!. Just saw this, and of course after I just updated to Creator Version. I'll check later to see if this effects me.

On a side note, I need replacement out front mount for my Cyclo 505. Can I use the plethora of garmin mounts out there, or where can I source a new mount? Anyone have one lying around that I can grab?

Re: Magellan Cyclo 505

Posted: Sun Jun 04, 2017 6:20 pm
by bane
There's always so much negative about the Cycle, but I've had mine for ages now and its still working fine for me. Maps, Dashboard, touchscreen, Syncing, GPS, uploading, wet, heat, all seem to be going ok....

Re: Magellan Cyclo 505

Posted: Thu Jun 08, 2017 11:34 pm
by wicksey
Absolute bargain (spotted in the specials thread.)

$99 for a 500, not quite the $79 I paid during the Dick Smith closure, but still an amazing price for what you get! Almost tempted to pick up another.

https://www.boxlots.com.au/collections/ ... orts-watch

Re: Magellan Cyclo 505

Posted: Sat Jun 10, 2017 9:07 pm
by fab4272
My Cyclo 505 just updated to ROM version V10 (from V07) using Cycloagent.

Anyone know what improvements that has brought? The HERE and OSM maps are still 2015.... :-(

Re: Magellan Cyclo 505

Posted: Sun Jun 11, 2017 9:21 am
by defy1
same..click Release Notes, goes to nothing useful lol

Re: Magellan Cyclo 505

Posted: Mon Jun 12, 2017 9:15 pm
by Dale S
Have to share the great experience I've had with Magellan support.
It started with me looking to buy a Cycle 505HC but couldn't find any new ones for sale in Australia, but found Amazon had USA ones for $120 USD plus postage, so contacted Magellan Aust. and asked if the US purchased ones work in Australia, which they emailed back saying they run same software and maps and will work here, which I was a bit dubious about from what I read on forums.
So went ahead and purchased from Amazon safe in the knowledge that Magellan said it would have Australian maps and software, which after getting unit setup found it worked OK recording a ride but no maps or directions features.
Contacted Magellan about this and they advised they would reload Aust/NZ software on it and pay shipping both ways.
The Cyclo arrived with them on a Friday morning and was on a plane back to me within 3 hrs, unbelievable turn around time.
Looking forward to many years of use from this unit now, sad they are being discontinued but from what I can gather looking at Dutch websites is being upgraded to https://www.fiets-navigatie-shop.nl/winkel/mio-cyclo-605-hc/Cyclo 605 which has physical buttons on it for lap function, stop start as well as touch screen.

Re: Magellan Cyclo 505

Posted: Tue Jun 13, 2017 11:37 am
by ball bearing

Re: Magellan Cyclo 505

Posted: Tue Jun 13, 2017 9:25 pm
by Dale S
ball bearing wrote:

Damn that thing is huge, certainly couldn't have anything else mounted on the bars near it as would need a fair radius to twist lock in.
Wonder how long before they start selling them here?

Re: Magellan Cyclo 505

Posted: Tue Jun 13, 2017 11:42 pm
by ball bearing
Dale S wrote:Damn that thing is huge, certainly couldn't have anything else mounted on the bars near it as would need a fair radius to twist lock in.
Wonder how long before they start selling them here?


Absolutely giant sized! I believe Magellan has produced another product destined to obsolescence even before it reaches our shores. If I buy another GPS it will probably be a Wahoo Bolt.

Re: Magellan Cyclo 505

Posted: Sat Jun 24, 2017 10:08 pm
by DreamensioN
Hey guys,
I just thought I'd share this information (as this is the one of the posts that comes up in Google when you're searching for the Magellan 505 and how it doesn't work with Win10 Creators Update).

I got mine working. Looks like Magellan have produced a fix, but haven't updated their website/documentation (but really - is that a surprise to anyone?).

Here's what you need to do if you have a Cyclo 505, but you've installed Creators Update and you can no longer get it talking to your PC.

1. You need to get a Win7, Win8 or a Win10 computer (obviously without creators update), and install the Cyclo Agent software.
2. Sign in, and plug in your Cyclo 505 - it should detect etc.
3. Check for updates. There will be a new ROM update available (mine says V10). Apply that, unplug and reboot your Cyclo. You will see it do a bios/firmware level update (white text, blue background...looks like DOS/Linux).
4. After the update, plug back into the same computer, and check for updates again - it will reapply the Software Update (v4.4.7). Again, unplug and reboot your unit for good measure after the update is finished.

After that it's done - you can now plug it back into your Windows 10 Creators Update PC and it will work as it did before.

I hope this helps someone (more so...I hope Magellan get their act together and update their release notes/support).

Re: Magellan Cyclo 505

Posted: Sun Jun 25, 2017 7:50 pm
by Sully
DreamensioN wrote:Hey guys,
I just thought I'd share this information (as this is the one of the posts that comes up in Google when you're searching for the Magellan 505 and how it doesn't work with Win10 Creators Update).


Thanks mate.

Re: Magellan Cyclo 505

Posted: Wed Jun 28, 2017 2:56 pm
by defy1
bleh 2 years use, and battery life is down to 6-7 hours. Anyone know if the battery is DIY replaceable? don't care about warranty anymore

Re: Magellan Cyclo 505

Posted: Tue Jul 18, 2017 6:38 pm
by fab4272
Apparently there is an update to Cycloagent. The current version is talked about here.

http://www.mioshare.com/news/detail?newsid=13

Stuffed if I know how to download it. My cycloagent version 2.1.48.1 won't give me an update prompt. I believe it updates the OSM map on the device.

Re: Magellan Cyclo 505

Posted: Tue Jul 18, 2017 8:22 pm
by octagonalman
Seems like you can overwrite the part of the URL with the new version number:
http://download.mio.com/MioCyclo/GPST/A ... 2.13.1.zip
There seems to be a file on the other side.
Let us know how you go.