Magellan Cyclo 505

Rebel-C
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2018 8:37 am

Re: Magellan Cyclo 505

Postby Rebel-C » Sat Mar 17, 2018 9:09 am

cryptos wrote:My cyclo 505 software presents an available update, however looks to me
like the url is incorrect broken (perhaps space between "App 4.4.7.1.Zip")

No file found at: http://download.mio.com/MioCyclo/GPST/A ... cation/App 4.4.7.1.zip

2017/5/1 09:28:50:988 [NetInterface][getFile]
Url:http://download.mio.com/MioCyclo/GPST/Agent/Application/App 4.4.7.1.zip Dest:/Applications/CycloAgent/temp/App 4.4.7.1.zip
2017/5/1 09:28:50:989 [NetInterface][getFile]file not exist
2017/5/1 09:28:50:990 [NetInterface][getFile] 6



Many thanks, you saved my live, this is the only place in internet with this information for download, however, now the cyclo 505 has new version, I think v5.0. Do you know the link for recent version?

Additionally: Do you know how to update with maps of countries that are not on the Magellan list? For example: Brazil

fab4272
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2016 12:38 pm

Re: Magellan Cyclo 505

Postby fab4272 » Sun Mar 18, 2018 6:30 pm

Cyclo 505 is still on 4.4.7 at least for me.

mega-cyclo
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2018 8:43 am

Re: Magellan Cyclo 505

Postby mega-cyclo » Sun Apr 15, 2018 8:45 am

I have a Cyclo 505 with the North American Map on it. Is anybody up for sharing? I would trade it with Indonesian Map and/or Europe.

Thank you all!

mega-cyclo

barbl
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2016 6:33 pm

Re: Magellan Cyclo 505

Postby barbl » Sat Apr 28, 2018 1:34 pm

Will the Magellan Cyclo 505 sync to more than one speed/cadence sensor, ie can I use it on two different bikes with two different sensors?

User avatar
cancan64
Posts: 1697
Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2013 9:13 pm
Location: Auckland

Re: Magellan Cyclo 505

Postby cancan64 » Mon Apr 30, 2018 10:34 am

barbl wrote:Will the Magellan Cyclo 505 sync to more than one speed/cadence sensor, ie can I use it on two different bikes with two different sensors?

Yes I used mine between 3 bikes
“Some say he isn’t machine washable, and all his potted plants are called ‘Steve’.

Osprey57
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue May 01, 2018 12:12 am

Re: Magellan Cyclo 505

Postby Osprey57 » Tue May 01, 2018 12:19 am

My Cyclo 500 is now at S/W 5.09, Rom R08 and OSM 2018-03-20. Update became available a couple of weeks ago.

(I am based in the UK though)

I am now getting occasional 'System memory is low. Try using some (Cant remenber what -program memory maybe)' or similar wording. Have deleleted old tracks. Only happened twice so far, but otherwise runs OK

Osprey

brokenbus
Posts: 611
Joined: Sat Mar 13, 2010 7:12 pm
Location: Blackhead NSW

Re: Magellan Cyclo 505

Postby brokenbus » Tue May 01, 2018 2:56 pm

Yep mines now semi dead. Screen occasionally responds but gets worse as the ride goes on. I am looking at a Garmin 820 or maybe a 520plus as a replacement.
brokenbus wrote:
cancan64 wrote:I have been using mine lately and with it been a bit wet I now notice moisture inside the screen.... Its days are limited as this was the first sign before the original one failed when it was under warranty

Put into some uncooked rice for a few days. I had to do that to mine as i could no longer enter the wifi code.
If the was a way you could open the case, you could place in warm spot and dry it out properly. I have had moisture under the screen for over a year now
Image

User avatar
PiratePete
Posts: 660
Joined: Thu Sep 25, 2014 9:04 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Contact:

Re: Magellan Cyclo 505

Postby PiratePete » Thu May 03, 2018 8:40 pm

Looks like today we finally got the support statement we've been waiting the last couple of years for...

Dear Magellan Active User,

The Magellan GPS Active website (http://active.magellangps.com/) will be shutting down on Jun 15, 2018.
If you would like to download and use your activity data on other devices, please make sure to download it before June 15th. Your data can be used on Strava, TrainingPeaks, endomondo, and today's plan.
To download your data, please follow these steps:

For Switch and Echo Products:
Go to the fitness website/application of your choice
Connect your device to your computer
Most fitness websites/apps will have an "Upload a file" option, select that option
Select "Browse" and locate the new device that has been added as a removable drive to your computer
Navigate to the "Activities" folder on the device and select the particular .FIT file you want to save/upload

For Cyclo Products:
Log into your Magellan Cyclo dashboard
Click on your name in the upper right hand corner of the page and select "Account"
Click on the "Synchronization" setting tab
Select one of the available accounts with the other 3rd party application to link
Authorize Magellan Cyclo to connect to the other app
Note: Activities uploaded prior to this authorization will not sync to the 3rd party app

To Export your previously uploaded Activities from you Magellan Active account:
Log into active.magellangps.com
Select your desired saved activity
On the right hand side of the screen you should see an "Export" option
Click on the arrow next to the "Export" option and select the file format
Note: Most 3rd party apps may support the GPX format. You may need to check with the app that you intend to use.
After June 15th 2018, we will be removing the Active website and all data from our servers. At that time all personal data will be permanently deleted. For additional information, please see the FAQ here. If you cannot find an answer to your questions you can also send an email to support.us@magellangps.com.
Magellan GPS


Gee I'm glad that my Wahoo ELEMNT is such a good replacement, to be honest I haven't looked back.
2015 Specialized Diverge Carbon Expert
2013 Giant Reign MTB.
Pirate Pete on Instagram

wicksey
Posts: 135
Joined: Wed Oct 28, 2009 12:29 pm

Re: Magellan Cyclo 505

Postby wicksey » Fri May 04, 2018 10:44 am

Does that include magellancyclo.com or mioshare.com? I've never used the magellan active site.

User avatar
PiratePete
Posts: 660
Joined: Thu Sep 25, 2014 9:04 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Contact:

Re: Magellan Cyclo 505

Postby PiratePete » Fri May 04, 2018 2:08 pm

wicksey wrote:Does that include magellancyclo.com or mioshare.com? I've never used the magellan active site.


That's a good question. I don't know is the short answer, the Q&A doesn't answer it.

I've never used the active.magellangps.com either, only magellancyclo.com however it seems that I do indeed have a profile on the 'active' site and I logged in using my credentials for magellancyclo.com
2015 Specialized Diverge Carbon Expert
2013 Giant Reign MTB.
Pirate Pete on Instagram

User avatar
bane
Posts: 123
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2016 4:57 pm

Re: Magellan Cyclo 505

Postby bane » Sat May 05, 2018 2:24 pm

If the website becomes inactive, does that mean that any rides done after June 15 would no longer sync across to Strava?
Image

User avatar
SheikYerbouti
Posts: 456
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2014 11:47 am

Re: Magellan Cyclo 505

Postby SheikYerbouti » Mon May 07, 2018 12:49 pm

There's no way Magellan/Mio would remove the ability to use Strava. I'm not worried.
I'll bet MagellanActive is a different site from the others - though they may share login info - that is no longer used due to CycloAgent etc putting everyone on magellancyclo.com

https://support.strava.com/hc/en-us/articles/218349718

But you know, if worst comes to worst, I'll just connect my unit to the PC and upload the .fit file directly to the Strava website.

User avatar
Toyopet
Posts: 148
Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2010 5:43 pm
Location: Melbourne

Re: Magellan Cyclo 505

Postby Toyopet » Mon May 07, 2018 8:35 pm

I doubt there'll be any problems with the Magellan Cyclo website and Strava syncing. But if there is, your same username and password can be used on the MioShare website, which looks much the same as Cyclo.

The parent company will probably continue supporting this website if they withdraw support for the Cyclo website, as they've recently released new Mio models for the European market.

fab4272
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2016 12:38 pm

Re: Magellan Cyclo 505

Postby fab4272 » Wed May 16, 2018 5:37 pm

Another update to the Cyclo 605/405/400), but not for 505 again.

http://www.mioshare.com/news

Osprey57
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue May 01, 2018 12:12 am

Re: Magellan Cyclo 505

Postby Osprey57 » Tue May 29, 2018 3:43 am

fab4272 wrote:Another update to the Cyclo 605/405/400), but not for 505 again.

http://www.mioshare.com/news



I believe that is the update i mentioned (a few posts above). I have a Cyclo 500 (same as 505) and it updated both the system and the maps. (also seems to have lost my profiles and screen settings...)

Machoman121
Posts: 172
Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2014 8:29 pm

Re: Magellan Cyclo 505

Postby Machoman121 » Sun Jun 03, 2018 8:47 pm

Osprey57 wrote:
fab4272 wrote:Another update to the Cyclo 605/405/400), but not for 505 again.

http://www.mioshare.com/news



I believe that is the update i mentioned (a few posts above). I have a Cyclo 500 (same as 505) and it updated both the system and the maps. (also seems to have lost my profiles and screen settings...)


I"m in Australia and cycleagent reports everything is updated since 2015 so there's nothing to update?????

fab4272
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2016 12:38 pm

Re: Magellan Cyclo 505

Postby fab4272 » Tue Jun 05, 2018 5:38 pm

No, nothing to update. Maps are out of date by 3 years now. Other countries have updated OSM maps except here.

They were still selling this in stores last year, they should support it for a few more years at least with map updates. If not, no more Magellan for me.

magpupu2
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2018 1:10 pm

Re: Magellan Cyclo 505

Postby magpupu2 » Fri Jun 15, 2018 1:14 pm

I just got a good deal with a 505. Was using a 105 before. I plugged it in and did a couple of updates now it is saying insufficient memory but this is a new unit. Now I keep on getting mio dodge error. Can someone show me how the data partition looks like. I am trying to manually put the files in from the temp folder.

Thanks

User avatar
RonK
Posts: 10177
Joined: Mon Aug 24, 2009 2:08 pm
Location: Brisbane, Queensland
Contact:

Re: Magellan Cyclo 505

Postby RonK » Fri Jun 15, 2018 2:16 pm

What files are you trying to put in? What are you connecting with - PC or Mac?
Cycle touring blog and tour journals: whispering wheels...

magpupu2
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2018 1:10 pm

Re: Magellan Cyclo 505

Postby magpupu2 » Fri Jun 15, 2018 8:42 pm

I was actually able to get the thing working again. It looks like there were corrupted zip files that took multiple attempts to finally work. Still figuring out how to put Canadian maps on my unit though as I have a US one. I thought when they said NA maps, Canada was included

User avatar
RonK
Posts: 10177
Joined: Mon Aug 24, 2009 2:08 pm
Location: Brisbane, Queensland
Contact:

Re: Magellan Cyclo 505

Postby RonK » Fri Jun 15, 2018 9:00 pm

magpupu2 wrote:I was actually able to get the thing working again. It looks like there were corrupted zip files that took multiple attempts to finally work. Still figuring out how to put Canadian maps on my unit though as I have a US one. I thought when they said NA maps, Canada was included

You can't change maps, they are baked in. The only possibility is to see if Magellan support will update it for you.

The 505 might be sold cheap but it's no bargain. Support for the device has always been poor and now it is unsupported.

I would recommend you return it and ask for a refund.
Cycle touring blog and tour journals: whispering wheels...

magpupu2
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2018 1:10 pm

Re: Magellan Cyclo 505

Postby magpupu2 » Wed Jun 20, 2018 9:14 pm

does this unit show cues like the other cycle computer does?

magpupu2
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2018 1:10 pm

Re: Magellan Cyclo 505

Postby magpupu2 » Sat Jun 23, 2018 4:12 am

mega-cyclo wrote:I have a Cyclo 505 with the North American Map on it. Is anybody up for sharing? I would trade it with Indonesian Map and/or Europe.

Thank you all!

mega-cyclo


I know that this is an old post but does your unit have the Canada maps on it? I have a north american one as well but only with US.

fab4272
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2016 12:38 pm

Re: Magellan Cyclo 505

Postby fab4272 » Wed Jun 27, 2018 5:27 pm

Another update for Cyclo 605/405/400, but not the 505.

http://www.mioshare.com/news/detail?newsid=24

brokenbus
Posts: 611
Joined: Sat Mar 13, 2010 7:12 pm
Location: Blackhead NSW

Re: Magellan Cyclo 505

Postby brokenbus » Wed Jun 27, 2018 10:43 pm

I have a red and a green cover for a 505 that I no longer need. Anyone want them for the cost of postage? First pm for each colour gets it. One each don't be greedy
Nick
Image

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users