Adjusting front derailleur

Workshop tales, trials and disasters.
Maintenance tips, techniques and myths.
Technical discussion, description and outright lies

Adjusting front derailleur

Postby peter » Sat Aug 02, 2008 2:44 pm

Went out for a ride just now but half way through the front derailleur played up, the chain suddenly dropped to the small ring (it's a compact). I put the chain back to the large ring but it would just drop back to the small ring once I start riding.

Is it easy to rectify the problem? I would like to avoid a trip to the LBS if it's a simple fix. Any guidance would be appreciated.
peter

by BNA » Sat Aug 02, 2008 3:39 pm

BNA

Postby U2adam!!! » Sat Aug 02, 2008 3:39 pm

There is a video on www dot bicycletutor dot com. I can't post a link because I am still a noob but it's on the 4th page of their vids.

This will give you something to watch while you are waiting for a decent reply from someone who has some experience with the adjustment i.e. not me.

Tim
U2adam!!!

Postby zoom bean » Sat Aug 02, 2008 4:39 pm

Simple fix that usually works for me:

- Shift to your lowest gear (smallest sprocket up front, largest at the rear)
- Undo the bolt holding the cable in
- Now the cable should be loose, pull it tight & re-tighten the bolt
- Shift through all your gears and make sure it is working okay

If the derailleur rubs on the chain in certain gears use the adjustment screws to correct (the two screws side by side on top of the derailleur). On mine the screw closest to the chain adjusts the derailleur when it's in the largest gear. The screw closest to the seat tube adjusts the derailleur in the smallest gear. I understand that these can vary though, so it may not be the same for your bike.
zoom bean

Postby Hawkeye » Sat Aug 02, 2008 6:15 pm

zoom bean wrote:- Shift to your lowest gear (smallest sprocket up front, largest at the rear)