Dura Ace 9000 - c24 to c35, RD adjustment required?

Workshop tales, trials and disasters.
Maintenance tips, techniques and myths.
Technical discussion, description and outright lies

Dura Ace 9000 - c24 to c35, RD adjustment required?

Postby boss » Wed Jul 09, 2014 10:13 am

Pretty much as the title says.

If I'm swapping c24's out for c35's, am I going to have to mess with the RD adjustment?

My gut instinct is no but if anyone can offer some insight, would be appreciated.

Considering purchasing some c35's (and other wheels too), if I can just interchange the c35's for c24's without messing around with the RD, that's a big plus in the c35 column.

Thanks all.
boss
 
Posts: 1202
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2012 5:58 pm

by BNA » Wed Jul 09, 2014 12:24 pm

BNA
 

Re: Dura Ace 9000 - c24 to c35, RD adjustment required?

Postby ball bearing » Wed Jul 09, 2014 12:24 pm

I believe that the hubs are the same so in theory you shouldn't have to mess around with different spacers.
ball bearing
 
Posts: 548
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2012 1:43 pm
Location: Watching the ships on the Southern Ocean

Re: Dura Ace 9000 - c24 to c35, RD adjustment required?

Postby Ross » Wed Jul 09, 2014 12:25 pm

Shouldn't do as long as they are both the same 'generation' of wheel ie both 7900 or both 9000 series. AFAIK the hubs are the same.
Image
User avatar
Ross
 
Posts: 3852
Joined: Sat Nov 07, 2009 7:53 pm

Re: Dura Ace 9000 - c24 to c35, RD adjustment required?

Postby ball bearing » Wed Jul 09, 2014 12:29 pm

ball bearing wrote:I believe that the hubs are the same so in theory you shouldn't have to mess around with different spacers.

I was wrong, although I doubt that the width will be different even though the hubs are different...

http://www.bikerumor.com/2012/05/31/201 ... r-options/
ball bearing
 
Posts: 548
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2012 1:43 pm
Location: Watching the ships on the Southern Ocean

Re: Dura Ace 9000 - c24 to c35, RD adjustment required?

Postby biker jk » Wed Jul 09, 2014 12:53 pm

ball bearing wrote:
ball bearing wrote:I believe that the hubs are the same so in theory you shouldn't have to mess around with different spacers.

I was wrong, although I doubt that the width will be different even though the hubs are different...

http://www.bikerumor.com/2012/05/31/201 ... r-options/


Only the lacing is different. The hub dimensions will be the same. There shouldn't be any need to tweak the derailleur.
User avatar
biker jk
 
Posts: 2776
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2009 5:18 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Dura Ace 9000 - c24 to c35, RD adjustment required?

Postby handle » Wed Jul 09, 2014 2:35 pm

I have/had a bunch of Shimano wheels, incl:
DA 7850TL
DA 7900C24
Ultegra 6600
Ultegra 6700 TL
Ultegra 6800 TL
RS80 C24
RS81 C35
RS81 C50

Can swap between all of them, and between 2 bikes, without tweaking RD :). I'm running 10 spd on all of them, using spacers as supplied with wheels. Clusters range from 12-28 to 12-23. Bikes use 6600 shifters/mechs.
Only tweak I need to make is with brake adjustment when using the RS81C50s - they are a slightly wider rim than the others.

I don't think you'll have any issues with rear mech adjustment swapping the DA wheels - just check rim width re brake tweak if that is important to you.
handle
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2008 6:37 pm

Re: Dura Ace 9000 - c24 to c35, RD adjustment required?

Postby Tim » Wed Jul 09, 2014 9:29 pm

Thank you handle and others.
This is very handy information for me at the moment.
Currently riding a bike with RS80's and considering new RS81's and maybe DA9000's for the newer bike a Giant TCR Advanced SL fitted with DA9000 running gear but different wheels.
Good to know they are all inter-changeable without any adjustments.
I've racked up about 20,000km's on the RS80's with zero problems. As true as the day I bought them. Brake tracks (indicator holes) have nearly disappeared.
Does this mileage seem reasonable? I seldom ride in the wet.
User avatar
Tim
 
Posts: 876
Joined: Wed Jul 07, 2010 5:02 pm
Location: Gippsland Lakes

Re: Dura Ace 9000 - c24 to c35, RD adjustment required?

Postby rodneycc » Wed Jul 09, 2014 10:15 pm

Any idea about mixing 7900 c24s, Fulcrum zeroes and Fulcrum 5s about the same vintage. Any adjustments needed there? Or otherwise that set of Enve's with the Chris King hubs in the market place?
2012 Giant Defy Compo 1
2012 Specialized Roubaix Elite
2013 Giant Talon 0 29er
2013 Flight Podium 1
2014 Bianchi Infinito CV
User avatar
rodneycc
 
Posts: 1018
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2013 12:50 pm
Location: Melbourne Suburbs, Victoria

Re: Dura Ace 9000 - c24 to c35, RD adjustment required?

Postby Duck! » Thu Jul 10, 2014 1:38 am

rodneycc wrote:Any idea about mixing 7900 c24s, Fulcrum zeroes and Fulcrum 5s about the same vintage. Any adjustments needed there? Or otherwise that set of Enve's with the Chris King hubs in the market place?

Probably won't need any tweaks swapping between the Fulcrums, but switching the others may need small adjustments.
I had a thought, but it got run over as it crossed my mind.
Duck!
Expert
 
Posts: 1943
Joined: Tue May 21, 2013 8:21 pm
Location: On The Tools

Re: Dura Ace 9000 - c24 to c35, RD adjustment required?

Postby boss » Thu Jul 10, 2014 9:35 am

C35's arrived. Got them second hand for a steal.... Looks like they were a wise purchase. Thanks all.
boss
 
Posts: 1202
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2012 5:58 pm

Re: Dura Ace 9000 - c24 to c35, RD adjustment required?

Postby rodneycc » Thu Jul 10, 2014 9:47 am

boss wrote:C35's arrived. Got them second hand for a steal.... Looks like they were a wise purchase. Thanks all.

How much mate if you don't mind me asking?
2012 Giant Defy Compo 1
2012 Specialized Roubaix Elite
2013 Giant Talon 0 29er
2013 Flight Podium 1
2014 Bianchi Infinito CV
User avatar
rodneycc
 
Posts: 1018
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2013 12:50 pm
Location: Melbourne Suburbs, Victoria

Re: Dura Ace 9000 - c24 to c35, RD adjustment required?

Postby boss » Thu Jul 10, 2014 10:16 am

rodneycc wrote:
boss wrote:C35's arrived. Got them second hand for a steal.... Looks like they were a wise purchase. Thanks all.

How much mate if you don't mind me asking?


$950 w/tyres shipped, couple thousand k's on them. Judging from the brake tracks its a couple thousand fair-weather k's. Freehub looks mint too.

I know Wiggle have them around $1300-1400 but you have to add customs, duty and potentially broker fees (dependant on carrier) to that equation. So $1350 from wiggle can easily end up $1600+ if your carrier charges you an arbitrary brokerage fee.

Cheapest I've seen locally was high $1700-ish.

Second hand they seem to go for good money. Only cheaper set I've seen was $850 and they had 4-5,000km on them, the rest were $1000+.
Last edited by boss on Thu Jul 10, 2014 10:35 am, edited 1 time in total.
boss
 
Posts: 1202
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2012 5:58 pm

Re: Dura Ace 9000 - c24 to c35, RD adjustment required?

Postby rodneycc » Thu Jul 10, 2014 10:34 am

Thanks, gives me an idea if I want to jump on another pair.
PS - Was looking at those Enve's (with envy!). Wasn't me that bought them though :-)
2012 Giant Defy Compo 1
2012 Specialized Roubaix Elite
2013 Giant Talon 0 29er
2013 Flight Podium 1
2014 Bianchi Infinito CV
User avatar
rodneycc
 
Posts: 1018
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2013 12:50 pm
Location: Melbourne Suburbs, Victoria

Re: Dura Ace 9000 - c24 to c35, RD adjustment required?

Postby rodneycc » Thu Jul 10, 2014 10:52 am

Duck! wrote:
rodneycc wrote:Any idea about mixing 7900 c24s, Fulcrum zeroes and Fulcrum 5s about the same vintage. Any adjustments needed there? Or otherwise that set of Enve's with the Chris King hubs in the market place?

Probably won't need any tweaks swapping between the Fulcrums, but switching the others may need small adjustments.


Thanks Duck, prob better if I give you more accurate info. Going from 2013 Fulcrum 5 11 speed compat (using with spacer and 10 speed 11-28 cassette) to 2012 Fulcrum zero 10 speed only (with 12-25 cassette). Making use of the 5s elsewhere. The Enve's are gone (prob for the best) but the C24's might still be in play. I never can get the RD as accurate as the LBS with my fat fingers so would be nice if I don't have to touch it.

So thanks again, I might have to start paying you commission for advice soon :-)
Cheers Rod.
2012 Giant Defy Compo 1
2012 Specialized Roubaix Elite
2013 Giant Talon 0 29er
2013 Flight Podium 1
2014 Bianchi Infinito CV
User avatar
rodneycc
 
Posts: 1018
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2013 12:50 pm
Location: Melbourne Suburbs, Victoria

Re: Dura Ace 9000 - c24 to c35, RD adjustment required?

Postby petal665 » Thu Jul 10, 2014 1:19 pm

I run
7850 C24 TU modified to 11
7900 C35 TU modified to 11
9000 C35 TU
ENVE DT240 11 speed
Lightweight DT240 11 speed
Lightweight DT240 Campy 11

all on the same bike without needing to adjust the RD. Brake pad width and height on the other hand.....

Wheels I've built from 6800, 9000 and Chris King R45 11 have also worked fine. Unless you are using some oddball hub they are all pretty much within the RD tolerances.
Image
petal665
 
Posts: 1516
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2008 9:42 am
Location: Red Hill, Brisbane


Return to The Shed

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users



Popular Bike Shops
Torpedo 7 Torpedo7 AU
Ground Effect Ground Effect NZ
Chain Reaction Cycles CRC UK
Wiggle Wiggle UK
Ebay Ebay AU

“Bicycles BNA Twitter
“Bicycles BNA Facebook
“Google+ BNA Google+
“Bicycles BNA Newsletter

> FREE BNA Stickers
> BNA Cycling Kit