How do I adjust RD 5800 derailer correctly

Neddysmith

How do I adjust RD 5800 derailer correctly

Postby Neddysmith » Mon Jul 17, 2017 5:44 pm

OK guys i need a little help for those a little technically minded.

So i am not a complete tard when it comes to things mechanical but i am new to the world or derailers and bike stuff.

So i have a new, well first, roadie and when riding on the weekend i noticed it wasnt shifting to lower 2 gears. so instead of running an 11sp i was effectively down to 9sp.

I have googled this a bit and looked at quite a few of the youtube vids around which i have found quite useful, HOWEVER, when giving this a crack tonight i was still unable to solve the problem.

First i started by checking the alignment and to my eye looked and straight, so i noticed one of the adjustment screws was screwed a quite a bit out, so decided to adjust everything right the way back in, this actually restricted the movement of the dereailer and wouldnt select the smallest 2 gears, but also still wouldnt goto the largest 2, i tried tighening the cable as the guy i bought the bike off said that all cables were replaced an make have stretched slightly so could need adjustment, this didnt help either.

So i adjusted the high screw back out and was able to select the smaller 2 gears again but still not the higher 2.

Anyone have any suggestions on what to try?

I am thinking about taking it to a bike shop and just paying them to do it but also watching them and hopefully get them to show me as they fix it so at least i learn something in the process.

Cheers for any help.

Tim

Re: How do I adjust RD 5800 derailer correctly

Postby Tim » Mon Jul 17, 2017 6:56 pm

Neddysmith wrote:Anyone have any suggestions on what to try?
RTFM.

http://si.shimano.com/pdfs/dm/DM-RD0003-09-ENG.pdf

Duck!
Expert

Postby Duck! » Mon Jul 17, 2017 7:14 pm