Which tyres?

Neddysmith

Which tyres?

Postby Neddysmith » Thu Jul 20, 2017 10:43 am

Hey Guys,

Im new to this road cycling caper, but so far am really liking it, so if you could bare with me and some of the noob questions which may be coming from me itd be great.

Anyways, I am currently running Conti Gatorskins, no idea what size, but the bike was second hand and the rear tyre while still has some life left looks to be running low.

So i was gonna start looking around and researching a replacement set, i usually am a fan of if it aint broke done fix type mentality so my initial thought was to replace like with like.

I know there are a million other options out there, so happy to hear what others would recommend to replace with or to still with the Gatroskins.

Also what size 23, 25, 28??? and what is the main difference?

Cheers for giving a chop out to a noob

g-boaf

Re: Which tyres?

Postby g-boaf » Thu Jul 20, 2017 11:40 am

I've always used Continental GP4000S or GP4000S II (the current generation) in 23mm or 25mm form.

They give okay puncture protection and good grip even in the wet.

The 25mm will give you a bit more compliance than 23mm, and you should be able to run them with a little less pressure. 28mm might depend on if your bike supports those wide tyres. I suspect my road bike might not, and my TT bike won't take 25mm either.

GCN has a bit of information: https://www.globalcyclingnetwork.com/vi ... aintenance

I haven't found any appreciable speed/rolling differences between 23mm or 25mm, but 23mm feels pretty harsh.

Nobody

Postby Nobody » Thu Jul 20, 2017 1:43 pm