Graphite / Graphene frames ?

10speedsemiracer

Graphite / Graphene frames ?

Postby 10speedsemiracer » Wed Mar 21, 2018 12:12 am

I'm not a materials expert, and have only basic knowledge when it comes to materials and metallurgy etc however having observed the ongoing arguments regarding frame materials over the years, I've been wondering....why haven't we seen a Graphite composite frame ?

Don't get me wrong, I am a steel frame tragic and probably will be until, well until. This is just idle curiosity (and avoiding work).

Also, this is the album that most makes me remember the old days of refurbing old 10sp bikes in the garage. Thought I'd share....

Hoping someone with more knowledge on the topic (the Graphite, not the 1976 classic album) can answer the question...
Last edited by 10speedsemiracer on Wed Mar 21, 2018 12:40 am, edited 2 times in total.
Campagnolo for show, SunTour for go

Duck!
Expert

Re: Graphite / Graphene frames ?

Postby Duck! » Wed Mar 21, 2018 12:28 am

Graphite and graphene, although like carbon fibre variants of carbon atoms, are different on a molecular structure level, which makes them unsuitable for primary structural use. Where graphene does work, and is beginning to be used for, is as a kind of filler in the resin used to bid carbon fibres together. In much the same way carbon nano-tubes have been used for 10 years or more, the microscopic carbon dust helps bind the resin to the structural fibres, fill voids between the fibres and give the resin itself greater cohesive strength. Ultimately it gives the composite layup extra impact resistance, as it helps tie the resin and fibres together.

Because of its molecular structure, we will not see frames produced purely from graphene composite, but as it becomes more widely produced, we will see a greater number of manufacturers adding it to their carbon fibre composites.
I had a thought, but it got run over as it crossed my mind.

10speedsemiracer