GPS data - clipping redundant bits

User avatar
familyguy
Posts: 5825
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2008 2:30 pm
Location: Cremorne, NSW

GPS data - clipping redundant bits

Postby familyguy » Thu Jul 26, 2018 12:24 pm

Anyone know of a way to clip redundant GPS data? Such as when you ride 3.71km and you think you've stopped the Garmin but it didn't and you record 32 minutes of sitting still which affects a few things like average speed and power calculations?

Jim

User avatar
find_bruce
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 7819
Joined: Mon May 09, 2011 8:42 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: GPS data - clipping redundant bits

Postby find_bruce » Thu Jul 26, 2018 12:50 pm

Viking GPS Data and Topo Analyzer, Explorer, and Manager
https://sourceforge.net/p/viking/wikiallura/Main_Page/

EDIT: Viking is good for the GPS trace but doesn't work for the embeded data in a fit file. The easiest way to crop a fit file is using Fit File Tools - unlike Strava you can even crop in the middle

User avatar
kb
Posts: 2451
Joined: Sun Nov 13, 2011 3:22 pm

Re: GPS data - clipping redundant bits

Postby kb » Thu Jul 26, 2018 3:53 pm

Garmin::FIT and fitsed is my choice (https://pub.ks-and-ks.ne.jp/cycling/GarminFIT.shtml) but command line stream editors (and Perl!) are an acquired taste...
Image

User avatar
familyguy
Posts: 5825
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2008 2:30 pm
Location: Cremorne, NSW

Re: GPS data - clipping redundant bits

Postby familyguy » Thu Jul 26, 2018 4:16 pm

Was also pointed towards this one: https://www.fitfiletools.com/#/top

Jim

User avatar
ValleyForge
Posts: 1682
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 5:37 pm
Location: Brisbane

Re: GPS data - clipping redundant bits

Postby ValleyForge » Thu Jul 26, 2018 10:28 pm

I have auto-pause enabled at 4kph for training rides. It avoids that post-coffee discovery of the timer still running. Means I don't have to shave the .fit files.
Ha ha ha! Cookies on dowels.

User avatar
familyguy
Posts: 5825
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2008 2:30 pm
Location: Cremorne, NSW

Re: GPS data - clipping redundant bits

Postby familyguy » Thu Jul 26, 2018 11:07 pm

So do I, but for some reason it tracked 40 minutes of standing still as run time.

User avatar
ValleyForge
Posts: 1682
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 5:37 pm
Location: Brisbane

Re: GPS data - clipping redundant bits

Postby ValleyForge » Thu Jul 26, 2018 11:53 pm

What a PIA. I remember my 705 did it once or twice when it didn't connect to the wheel sensor and was only using GPS for speed. Wildly inaccurate especially parked beside a building in the CBD.
Ha ha ha! Cookies on dowels.

User avatar
RonK
Posts: 10275
Joined: Mon Aug 24, 2009 2:08 pm
Location: Brisbane, Queensland
Contact:

Re: GPS data - clipping redundant bits

Postby RonK » Fri Jul 27, 2018 10:11 am

ValleyForge wrote:What a PIA. I remember my 705 did it once or twice when it didn't connect to the wheel sensor and was only using GPS for speed. Wildly inaccurate especially parked beside a building in the CBD.

That is because the GPS was receiving multi-path (ghost) signals bouncing off the buildings which fooled it that the bike was in motion.
Last edited by RonK on Fri Jul 27, 2018 10:56 am, edited 1 time in total.
Cycle touring blog and tour journals: whispering wheels...

User avatar
familyguy
Posts: 5825
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2008 2:30 pm
Location: Cremorne, NSW

Re: GPS data - clipping redundant bits

Postby familyguy » Fri Jul 27, 2018 10:28 am

Whenever I ride up Kent St, the GPS track looks like I've visited a dozen buildings and even a few side streets 8)

Jim

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Duck!, MattyK, Ratts