Garmin use on indoor velodrome

User avatar
Pravda
Posts: 456
Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2011 2:16 pm
Location: Perth NOR

Garmin use on indoor velodrome

Postby Pravda » Sun Aug 11, 2013 9:51 am

Hi guys.
I've just picked up my first track bike (thanks Steve) after riding on the track here in perth on borrowed bikes for a couple of months.
The bike already has a garmin mount and speed/cadence meter but after using my garmin in my jersey pocket at the velodrome here I've noticed the gps is sketchy at best.
Is it just a matter of disabling gps and just using the garmin data without it?
Inteested to hear some opinions from those more experienced than me.
Cheers
Ben

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 4
2014 Canyon Aerode SLX
Puegeot Aneto 105
Kona Jake the Snake CX

User avatar
stevecassidy
Posts: 261
Joined: Thu Aug 20, 2009 10:42 pm
Location: Telopea, Sydney
Contact:

Re: Garmin use on indoor velodrome

Postby stevecassidy » Sun Aug 11, 2013 2:05 pm

Hi Ben, just disable the GPS and use the speed sensor instead. Worked fine for me.

Hope you enjoy the bike.

Steve
Where's your next race? cabici.net lists bike races in Sydney

Marty Moose
Posts: 1415
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 7:00 pm
Location: W.A

Re: Garmin use on indoor velodrome

Postby Marty Moose » Sun Aug 11, 2013 4:07 pm

Same for me the garmin doesn't work in the speed dome. I just wait till it says can't get a gps signal and clickt no to it searching. More than likely seen you there.You go on Tuesdays??

Sent from my MB526 using Tapatalk 2

User avatar
stevecassidy
Posts: 261
Joined: Thu Aug 20, 2009 10:42 pm
Location: Telopea, Sydney
Contact:

Re: Garmin use on indoor velodrome

Postby stevecassidy » Sun Aug 11, 2013 5:43 pm

Hi Marty, there's a faster way via the menus, just go into Settings and there's a GPS option where you get to disable it.

Steve
Where's your next race? cabici.net lists bike races in Sydney

User avatar
kb
Posts: 2078
Joined: Sun Nov 13, 2011 3:22 pm

Re: Garmin use on indoor velodrome

Postby kb » Sun Aug 11, 2013 5:58 pm

Or on a 800 tap the satellite signal bars in the corner.
Image

Marty Moose
Posts: 1415
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 7:00 pm
Location: W.A

Re: Garmin use on indoor velodrome

Postby Marty Moose » Sun Aug 11, 2013 6:03 pm

lol you guys are killing me I have an 800 :) cheers

MM

Sent from my MB526 using Tapatalk 2

User avatar
Pravda
Posts: 456
Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2011 2:16 pm
Location: Perth NOR

Re: Garmin use on indoor velodrome

Postby Pravda » Mon Aug 12, 2013 11:31 pm

Marty Moose wrote:Same for me the garmin doesn't work in the speed dome. I just wait till it says can't get a gps signal and clickt no to it searching. More than likely seen you there.You go on Tuesdays??

Sent from my MB526 using Tapatalk 2


Whoops forgot about this thread.

Yup I go Tuesdays, heading down tomorrow, first time for about a month.
Thanks a lot Steve, had a blast on it so far.
2014 Canyon Aerode SLX
Puegeot Aneto 105
Kona Jake the Snake CX

Marty Moose
Posts: 1415
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 7:00 pm
Location: W.A

Re: Garmin use on indoor velodrome

Postby Marty Moose » Tue Aug 13, 2013 8:44 am

Come day gday I'll be in the fat dads kit :)
Marty

Sent from my MB526 using Tapatalk 2

User avatar
Pravda
Posts: 456
Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2011 2:16 pm
Location: Perth NOR

Re: Garmin use on indoor velodrome

Postby Pravda » Tue Aug 13, 2013 11:11 am

I'll keep an eye out for you Marty.

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 4
2014 Canyon Aerode SLX
Puegeot Aneto 105
Kona Jake the Snake CX

Marty Moose
Posts: 1415
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 7:00 pm
Location: W.A

Re: Garmin use on indoor velodrome

Postby Marty Moose » Tue Aug 13, 2013 11:35 pm

Did you go ?? I

User avatar
Pravda
Posts: 456
Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2011 2:16 pm
Location: Perth NOR

Re: Garmin use on indoor velodrome

Postby Pravda » Wed Aug 14, 2013 11:19 pm

Marty Moose wrote:Did you go ?? I


Yup I was down there, rocked up a little late so missed the motorpacing.
Rode in the "B" grade race.
Didn't see any fat dads, I'll keep a better eye out next week.
2014 Canyon Aerode SLX
Puegeot Aneto 105
Kona Jake the Snake CX

Marty Moose
Posts: 1415
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 7:00 pm
Location: W.A

Re: Garmin use on indoor velodrome

Postby Marty Moose » Thu Aug 15, 2013 11:35 am

I went home after the 100 lapper :-) Did watch the start of the b grade but didn't feel like hanging about was getting cold .



Pravda wrote:
Marty Moose wrote:Did you go ?? I


Yup I was down there, rocked up a little late so missed the motorpacing.
Rode in the "B" grade race.
Didn't see any fat dads, I'll keep a better eye out next week.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users