Quick Road Bike conversion

GJM

Quick Road Bike conversion

Postby GJM » Mon Nov 16, 2015 11:25 am

Hi there.
Apologies if this has been done to death.
Unexpectedly, I have a TT race to do in a few weeks time. It's a 15km TT.
I'm set up for mountain (road) climbing, not for TT-ing.
I have a good spare road bike though.
I don't want to buy a whole new TT bike. I want to convert my existing spare road bike.
What should I do? What tri bars should I buy?
And are TT bars simply clip ons (to existing bar), or is there also the option of replacing the entire handlebar with a purpose-built all in one?
I'm new to all this.

dalai47

Re: Quick Road Bike conversion

Postby dalai47 » Mon Nov 16, 2015 4:41 pm

IMO all left a little too late for this year.

Get some clip on aerobars (integrated time trial bars means new brake levers plus gear shifters and cables plus expensive bars), making sure your bar extensions within the necessary UCI regulations and practice riding the aerobars at speed. If you haven't ridden aerobars before I would suggest riding the road bike and I.A.B's for this year and set up properly for next year.

If you still want to try aerobars, extension bend will depend on preference (straight or ski) and if you have room to slam your stem will determine which model, As some aerobars sit high above the tops of your bars which means you will be still sitting high whilst on the extensions...

Derny Driver

Postby Derny Driver » Mon Nov 16, 2015 5:43 pm

+1 to what dalai said

My son is a very good TTer and he uses his road bike for them. He goes so good on the roady that i have no intention of buying him a TT bike even though he races every weekend.
Its very simple to set your road bike up, and very effective.
3 things to do.