Handling summer heat

Beating the system - the cycling commuting section

Handling summer heat

Postby bklff3 » Fri Jan 22, 2010 11:58 am

I'm pretty new to commuting. My commute's a fairly flat 22 km each along mainly shared paths (in Canberra), and I've enjoyed riding 1-3 times a week since October last year. I've worked my way up to around 28 km/h average speed. (Some other stats: commute is 324m up / 290m down accoring to bikely.com; I'm 32yo, 85-90 kg, 175 cm)

Up till now, my way of dealing with hot days has been simply not to ride. If BOM said it was going to be >32C then I just wouldn't ride. However, at the moment it seems to be >32C for 3/5 potential commuting days. I want to commute more, so I'll have to venture out. (according to the bom averages it's >30C in Canberra for 11 days in Jan and 8 days in Feb - why is it that those days always coincide with the days I want to ride???)

I haven't ridden at >32C since December when I rode home on a hot day, and was exhausted when I arrived. Nothing dangerous, but feeling unpleasantly weak and a bit sick, which isn't how I want to feel when I arrive home on the bike. I'd drunk plenty of water (1.5L over the ~50 min ride), so perhaps it was a combination of heat/pushing too hard? The heat in Canberra is dry and the sun is relentless (few trees). There's usually a 10-20km/h NW wind in my face on the way home. I use good water resistent sunscreen and haven't been sunburnt all summer.

Does anyone have other suggestions on handling the heat? Is it a case of HTFU and my body will adapt? I could try riding slower, but that never seems to work out for me (it's not me, sir, the bike just wants to go fast!). Do I need more carbs or electrolytes on hot days for this length ride?
bklff3

by BNA » Fri Jan 22, 2010 12:01 pm

BNA

Re: Handling summer heat

Postby jules21 » Fri Jan 22, 2010 12:01 pm