Commute from south hurstville to toongabbie

Beating the system - the cycling commuting section

Commute from south hurstville to toongabbie

Postby Kinny » Wed Jun 08, 2011 1:39 pm

Hey guys!
I'm quite new at this and was looking for some help with my route planning.

Currently I'm planning to try a walking route mapped out by my iOS map app. Goes from:
- Connells point road right onto king georges.
- all the way north and left onto Arthur street
- left onto railway st
- railway st veers right then left turn onto church st
- right onto Olympic drive then follow onto rawson st.
- left onto parramatta road
- right onto church st or down m4??

Alright before I go on I have a question.
South of Beverly hills on king georges road becomes really really hilly and three lanes merge into two. Would it be alright under these circumstances to ride on the foot path until the road splits back into three? I think I would hold up a lot of traffic otherwise.
Kinny

by BNA » Sat Jun 11, 2011 3:27 pm

BNA

Re: Commute from south hurstville to toongabbie

Postby zero » Sat Jun 11, 2011 3:27 pm

We unfortunately don't make the rules, so can't give you permission :) I doubt you'd ever get ticketed for riding on the footpath there though.
I know the hills you are talking about, the traffic is often crawling anyway, so no big drama. I would just ride KGR myself.

There are good parallel roads (laycock and penshurst - go over penshurst station), that can keep you off KGR until beverly hills if you prefer. Under peak traffic conditions might actually be faster on a bike. Can't guarentee you the hills are any easier. If you look over google maps you can route yourself through other residential if you like to take some pressure off.
zero

Postby fishwop » Mon Jun 13, 2011 7:14 pm