From Homebush to Rooty Hill??

Beating the system - the cycling commuting section

From Homebush to Rooty Hill??

Postby joabocop » Sat Aug 27, 2011 4:44 pm

Hi Guys,
I'm new to the road nike thing and have recently bought a bike for some extra training. I plan to commute each day from Homebush to Rooty Hill for work and back. I'm not sure about the M4? Is it safe? I have looked at different maps and can't find a clear way to ride. Also, can you ride Para Rd out towards church st or are you to close to traffic? a lot of questions i know but im super keen to start asap and thought i should try and get some bearings before i jump into it..
joabocop

by BNA » Sat Aug 27, 2011 7:33 pm

BNA

Re: From Homebush to Rooty Hill??

Postby CommuRider » Sat Aug 27, 2011 7:33 pm

You can easily do Homebush to Parramatta via the Parra River cycleway. Not sure about the route from Parra to Rooty.
Amateur oenologist and green-friendly commuter.
CommuRider

Postby Xplora » Sat Aug 27, 2011 7:57 pm

For that particular commute, the best way to have a crack at it would be during school holidays, and preferably in a colder month to decide if you can tolerate the traffic. M4 is actually a proper bike lane, and it's less scary than Great Western because of that extra lane.

Homebush to Parra via the river for sure, it is a nice ride too, but I reckon the M4 is going to be the winner until church st exit - then head north and right, down past the motorbike stores to pick up the river.
Xplora

Postby wombatK » Sat Aug 27, 2011 10:06 pm