Advice re bikes, lights and panniers

Netti

Advice re bikes, lights and panniers

Postby Netti » Wed Jul 11, 2018 9:11 pm

Hi all,

I've learnt a lot from this forum already so thank you.

I'm a seasoned rider, used to commute 18 years ago BC, then with the kids to school and once they hit adolescence, it all stopped due to their work/sport commitments. But they're both driving now and I've been able to commute again this year.

I've been riding my hardtail mtb with a backpack for the past 6 months, I'm ready now for a commuter specific bike with panniers.

I live in Townsville, so heat rather than cold is an issue, I commute around 200kms/ week.

So I'm looking at a Bianchi Camaleonte C2 hybrid. I have a Bianchi Infinito roadie, just love them. I'm interested in panniers and racks, any tips would be greatly appreciated. Also info on rear lights, I'm continuing to use my Ayups on the front.

Thank you in advance. I love the commuter riding world!

rooftop

Re: Advice re bikes, lights and panniers

Postby rooftop » Thu Jul 12, 2018 11:47 am

I use PDW Radbot 1000 rear lights - I like that they have built in reflectors and come with rear rack mounts. I run them off rechargeable AAA's.

My panniers are from http://industrialsewingworkshop.com/pro ... -commuter/. They can be a bit fiddly to get setup, but once done they are rock solid and easy to mount/dismount.

P!N20

Postby P!N20 » Thu Jul 12, 2018 1:47 pm

If price is no obstacle, Ortlieb make the best panniers. They also come up second hand occasionally for a lot less than new.

Tubus make the best racks, but there are plenty of other options - Topeak and Soma come to mind.

You'll need to work out if you want front, rear or both. Front is good because it balances out your body weight on the back, but often don't have as much capacity (if that's a problem.) Rear is the opposite - large capacity but can play havoc with your handling - heavy rear, light front.