Trying to get started

stingstang

Trying to get started

Postby stingstang » Thu Jun 14, 2012 5:27 pm

Hi team, been on the site for ages but this is my first post. Thanks to everyone out there who gives such good advice.

I have always been fascinated with Triathlons and the fitness requirement to do such a event.

Im very unfit at the moment but am getting back on the bike so to speak. Swimming and cycling have never been a problem for me but im running is something i dread. im also completely new to organized events and such.

Just suck on a few things.

1. With all my searching i cant find any Triathlons in the next 6 months (im in Perth btw). Where could i get a listing or more info from?
2. due to my lack of fitness im looking to start small. but i would hate to do all the effort to do too small a event. Anyone got any experiences with the smaller events? rough lengths etc?

Thanks in advance! :P

cp123

Re: Trying to get started

Postby cp123 » Fri Jun 15, 2012 12:20 pm

try googling triathlon clubs in perth and asking them.

Over here novice races in the summer are 2/10/2 or 4/16/4 up to sprint distances of 5/20/5. Then all the other tradition distances after that.

rovill

Postby rovill » Fri Jun 15, 2012 9:17 pm

Hey!

There is no shame in doing shorter races, and you wont be wasting your time by doing one. When i first started tri's i entered a series of 'super sprint' races, that was a 350-10-3. It was perfect for starting out. If you haven't done one before then a shorter one would be best to start off with, it doesn't need to be the highlight of your season.

As to where to find races, try a website called 'beginnertriathlete' or find a local tri club and ask when some races are.

Evo6point5

Postby Evo6point5 » Thu Jun 21, 2012 8:26 pm

Hi mate,

There's Mandurah 70.3 in October (registration opens next Tuesday at 9am Perth time)

http://www.usmevents.com.au/Triathlon__ ... Mode=Print