training advice requested

The foundations for successful riding

training advice requested

Postby AAMerchant » Tue Jul 14, 2009 7:45 pm

Hello World of Cycling

im new to cycling - high hopes are to get into racing so any advice is more than appreciated

im commuting to work every day its about 8 km ride on road or trail

in traffic my average speed its around 23 - 24 top speed around 44 km/h with average cadence of 77 and max cadence of 130 ( these are averages over 15 rides )

in no traffic my average speed is around 26 - 27 top speed around 46 km/h with average cadence of 83 and max cadence of 133 ( these are averages over 15 rides )

the route has 2 short hills - 1 with a gradient of around 3% which is 1 km long and the other with a gradient of 5% which is about 200 meters long - the rest of the route is mainly straight with simple ups and downs -

at the moment i weigh about 98 kilos but im trying to drop weight which is happening slowly - im playing squash twice a week and riding 4 times a week trying to do 2 hilly rides 25 km each and 2 as straight as i can find 40 km , Melbourne is pretty hilly - during riding i have noticed at times my legs feel heavy and stiff like lead thats usually in the middle of a hill or right after coming down one. then there are times where its like they have a mind of their own and wont stop moving (of course this a the best feeling) - also im more comfortable riding in a bigger gear and can get into a better rhythem - smaller gears feel like im rocking ( which im trying to stablize ) pushing down and going no where. i do tend to stay in the bigger gear as much as i can - usually change to lower gears on hills and i go down the gears as i get tired , i try and change the gear at the point where i cant pedal the next pedal

i wanna go faster - this morning 4 people passed me which is motivating cause i tried to catch them they eventually disappeared ...

im riding a shogun ninja road bike with an ultegra grp set and alx wheels