Using powermeter on indoor gym bikes

The foundations for successful riding

Using powermeter on indoor gym bikes

Postby lennyk » Wed Jun 23, 2010 10:18 am

I recently started a powerbased 2x20(85%) regimen using the indoor bikes in the gym which have a power/watts display as well as hr, cadence etc

My previous "hard' training was a few repeats on a hill which would take me about 13mins to do and I found tended to be more anaerobic before I started to do some proper reading of the Coggan/Allen book.

I don't race or plan to but do want to raise my FTP and also improve my sprint for the little dragout we have on our weekend long ride.

I wonder if it would really be worthwhile for me to invest in a powermeter for my road bike, since I've been seeing some gains with my indoor training plus the road terrain I live in doesn't really provide for a good stretch or road to do 2x20's.
In fact I spend less time training as I can be in and out of the gym in less than 80mins in the morning for a set of 2x20's.

Anybody ?
lennyk
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2010 10:06 am

by BNA » Wed Jun 23, 2010 9:54 pm

BNA
 

Re: Using powermeter on indoor gym bikes

Postby twizzle » Wed Jun 23, 2010 9:54 pm

Get a Kurt Kinetic.
I ride, therefore I am.
...real cyclists don't have squeaky chains...
User avatar
twizzle
 
Posts: 6382
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2008 11:45 am
Location: Taking a break.

Re: Using powermeter on indoor gym bikes

Postby sogood » Wed Jun 23, 2010 10:28 pm

It certainly will work, although the calibration may be off and not available for analysis. One key aspect is that it will be able to delivery iso-power for the duration of intervals. One other limitation is that most stationary gym bikes have a rather low upper wattage limit and you want to find one that delivers at least 300W to be useful for most mid-lower club riders. So find that unit and stay with it so that it's consistent over time.
Bianchi, Ridley, Montague, GT, Garmin and All things Apple :)
RK wrote:And that is Wikipedia - I can write my own definition.
User avatar
sogood
 
Posts: 16796
Joined: Thu Aug 31, 2006 7:31 am
Location: Sydney AU

Re: Using powermeter on indoor gym bikes

Postby Alex Simmons/RST » Thu Jun 24, 2010 6:59 am

lennyk wrote:I recently started a powerbased 2x20(85%) regimen using the indoor bikes in the gym which have a power/watts display as well as hr, cadence etc

My previous "hard' training was a few repeats on a hill which would take me about 13mins to do and I found tended to be more anaerobic before I started to do some proper reading of the Coggan/Allen book.

I don't race or plan to but do want to raise my FTP and also improve my sprint for the little dragout we have on our weekend long ride.

I wonder if it would really be worthwhile for me to invest in a powermeter for my road bike, since I've been seeing some gains with my indoor training plus the road terrain I live in doesn't really provide for a good stretch or road to do 2x20's.
In fact I spend less time training as I can be in and out of the gym in less than 80mins in the morning for a set of 2x20's.

Anybody ?

People who do like to track and monitor their performance, usually will enjoy a power meter on their bike. Gym bikes tend not to be all that accurate and calibration between units inconsistent.

Indoor training is very time efficient if done well. That's why I jointly run an indoor training centre for cyclists and triathletes.

I also hire Power meters so people can at least try before they buy.
User avatar
Alex Simmons/RST
Expert
 
Posts: 3250
Joined: Fri May 02, 2008 3:51 pm

Re: Using powermeter on indoor gym bikes

Postby gclark8 » Thu Jun 24, 2010 8:24 am

I have seen Power Meters on the Evolution 'air' bikes at the local Uni. 8)

I am currently re-building a Repco double BB to run 6 gears with interchangeable wheels, 6/3 blade.
Cheers,
George.
User avatar
gclark8
 
Posts: 954
Joined: Sat May 14, 2011 7:09 am
Location: Bassendean, WA

Re: Using powermeter on indoor gym bikes

Postby lennyk » Mon Jun 28, 2010 10:01 pm

The bikes in the gym do vary a lot in their calibration from bike to bike, I always try to use the same one.

anyway, I have ordered a powertap pro equipped wheelset for my bday this month.
lennyk
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2010 10:06 am

Re: Using powermeter on indoor gym bikes

Postby sogood » Tue Jul 06, 2010 12:36 pm

lennyk wrote:I recently started a powerbased 2x20(85%) regimen...

85% of what?
Bianchi, Ridley, Montague, GT, Garmin and All things Apple :)
RK wrote:And that is Wikipedia - I can write my own definition.
User avatar
sogood
 
Posts: 16796
Joined: Thu Aug 31, 2006 7:31 am
Location: Sydney AU

Re: Using powermeter on indoor gym bikes

Postby gclark8 » Tue Jul 06, 2010 12:48 pm

sogood wrote:
lennyk wrote:I recently started a powerbased 2x20(85%) regimen...

85% of what?
85% of 100% :roll:
Cheers,
George.
User avatar
gclark8
 
Posts: 954
Joined: Sat May 14, 2011 7:09 am
Location: Bassendean, WA

Re: Using powermeter on indoor gym bikes

Postby sogood » Tue Jul 06, 2010 12:55 pm

gclark8 wrote:
sogood wrote:
lennyk wrote:I recently started a powerbased 2x20(85%) regimen...

85% of what?
85% of 100% :roll:

That 100% being? :roll:
Bianchi, Ridley, Montague, GT, Garmin and All things Apple :)
RK wrote:And that is Wikipedia - I can write my own definition.
User avatar
sogood
 
Posts: 16796
Joined: Thu Aug 31, 2006 7:31 am
Location: Sydney AU

Re: Using powermeter on indoor gym bikes

Postby gclark8 » Tue Jul 06, 2010 3:01 pm

That 100% being?
Max Heart Rate.
Cheers,
George.
User avatar
gclark8
 
Posts: 954
Joined: Sat May 14, 2011 7:09 am
Location: Bassendean, WA

Re: Using powermeter on indoor gym bikes

Postby sogood » Tue Jul 06, 2010 3:15 pm

gclark8 wrote:
That 100% being?
Max Heart Rate.

If that's the case, then what's that got to do with a powermeter? The OP should have been using a HRM instead.

Hence the need to get this 85% issue clarified. :P
Bianchi, Ridley, Montague, GT, Garmin and All things Apple :)
RK wrote:And that is Wikipedia - I can write my own definition.
User avatar
sogood
 
Posts: 16796
Joined: Thu Aug 31, 2006 7:31 am
Location: Sydney AU

Re: Using powermeter on indoor gym bikes

Postby lennyk » Wed Jul 07, 2010 1:22 am

85% of 20min ftp test done with the powermeter on the gym bike,
which is a paltry 200w or so.
Mind you the gym bikes could be under rating the displayed power.
the gym bikes are cybex
lennyk
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2010 10:06 am

Re: Using powermeter on indoor gym bikes

Postby lennyk » Mon Aug 16, 2010 12:42 am

Ok, I got my Powertap last week and did a little 20min circuit.
My FTP is about 210 which is close to what I estimated on the electronic Cybex gym bikes.
Might even be a little higher if I ride the route better as it has some up/downs.

Alex, How do you guys get images of the graphs from your software ?

thanks,

L
lennyk
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2010 10:06 am

Re: Using powermeter on indoor gym bikes

Postby Alex Simmons/RST » Mon Aug 16, 2010 11:15 am

I use a screen capture tool, then save the image to an online image library, which I link to when posting images.
User avatar
Alex Simmons/RST
Expert
 
Posts: 3250
Joined: Fri May 02, 2008 3:51 pm

Re: Using powermeter on indoor gym bikes

Postby lennyk » Mon Aug 16, 2010 12:04 pm

thanks, you can also do a screen capture by just pressing CTRL-Shift and then PrintScreen keys together
and then opening the Paint program and choosing Edit/Paste.

Lennard
lennyk
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2010 10:06 am

Re: Using powermeter on indoor gym bikes

Postby jacks1071 » Wed Aug 18, 2010 10:53 pm

lennyk wrote:I recently started a powerbased 2x20(85%) regimen using the indoor bikes in the gym which have a power/watts display as well as hr, cadence etc

My previous "hard' training was a few repeats on a hill which would take me about 13mins to do and I found tended to be more anaerobic before I started to do some proper reading of the Coggan/Allen book.

I don't race or plan to but do want to raise my FTP and also improve my sprint for the little dragout we have on our weekend long ride.

I wonder if it would really be worthwhile for me to invest in a powermeter for my road bike, since I've been seeing some gains with my indoor training plus the road terrain I live in doesn't really provide for a good stretch or road to do 2x20's.
In fact I spend less time training as I can be in and out of the gym in less than 80mins in the morning for a set of 2x20's.

Anybody ?


I've gotta say that using a power metre on a trainer makes the experience a lot more bareable as the power metre keeps you focused so the time seems to pass quicker and it does seem like a much better use of your time than doing it without power...
Our Website is: http://www.pro-liteoz.com Find us on Facebook by searching for "Pro-Lite Australia"
User avatar
jacks1071
 
Posts: 2785
Joined: Thu Aug 20, 2009 9:47 pm
Location: Mackay, QLD

Re: Using powermeter on indoor gym bikes

Postby lennyk » Thu Aug 19, 2010 1:21 am

helps if the bikes are behind the treadmills with nice chicks running
lennyk
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2010 10:06 am


Return to Training

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users



Support BNA
Click for online shops
Torpedo 7 Torpedo7 AU
Ground Effect Ground Effect NZ
Chain Reaction Cycles CRC UK
Wiggle Wiggle UK
Cycling Express Cycling Express
Ebay Ebay AU
ProBikeKit ProBikeKit UK
Evans Cycles Evans Cycles UK
JensonUSA Jenson USA
JensonUSA Competitive Cyclist