Using powermeter on indoor gym bikes

The foundations for successful riding

Using powermeter on indoor gym bikes

Postby lennyk » Wed Jun 23, 2010 10:18 am

I recently started a powerbased 2x20(85%) regimen using the indoor bikes in the gym which have a power/watts display as well as hr, cadence etc

My previous "hard' training was a few repeats on a hill which would take me about 13mins to do and I found tended to be more anaerobic before I started to do some proper reading of the Coggan/Allen book.

I don't race or plan to but do want to raise my FTP and also improve my sprint for the little dragout we have on our weekend long ride.

I wonder if it would really be worthwhile for me to invest in a powermeter for my road bike, since I've been seeing some gains with my indoor training plus the road terrain I live in doesn't really provide for a good stretch or road to do 2x20's.
In fact I spend less time training as I can be in and out of the gym in less than 80mins in the morning for a set of 2x20's.

Anybody ?
lennyk
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2010 10:06 am

by BNA » Wed Jun 23, 2010 9:54 pm

BNA
 

Re: Using powermeter on indoor gym bikes

Postby twizzle » Wed Jun 23, 2010 9:54 pm

Get a Kurt Kinetic.
I ride, therefore I am.
...real cyclists don't have squeaky chains...
User avatar
twizzle
 
Posts: 6382
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2008 11:45 am
Location: Taking a break.

Re: Using powermeter on indoor gym bikes

Postby sogood » Wed Jun 23, 2010 10:28 pm

It certainly will work, although the calibration may be off and not available for analysis. One key aspect is that it will be able to delivery iso-power for the duration of intervals. One other limitation is that most stationary gym bikes have a rather low upper wattage limit and you want to find one that delivers at least 300W to be useful for most mid-lower club riders. So find that unit and stay with it so that it's consistent over time.
Bianchi, Ridley, Montague, GT, Garmin and All things Apple :)
RK wrote:And that is Wikipedia - I can write my own definition.
User avatar
sogood
 
Posts: 16907
Joined: Thu Aug 31, 2006 7:31 am
Location: Sydney AU

Re: Using powermeter on indoor gym bikes

Postby Alex Simmons/RST » Thu Jun 24, 2010 6:59 am

lennyk wrote:I recently started a powerbased 2x20(85%) regimen using the indoor bikes in the gym which have a power/watts display as well as hr, cadence etc

My previous "hard' training was a few repeats on a hill which would take me about 13mins to do and I found tended to be more anaerobic before I started to do some proper reading of the Coggan/Allen book.

I don't race or plan to but do want to raise my FTP and also improve my sprint for the little dragout we have on our weekend long ride.

I wonder if it would really be worthwhile for me to invest in a powermeter for my road bike, since I've been seeing some gains with my indoor training plus the road terrain I live in doesn't really provide for a good stretch or road to do 2x20's.
In fact I spend less time training as I can be in and out of the gym in less than 80mins in the morning for a set of 2x20's.

Anybody ?

People who do like to track and monitor their performance, usually will enjoy a power meter on their bike. Gym bikes tend not to be all that accurate and calibration between units inconsistent.

Indoor training is very time efficient if done well. That's why I jointly run an indoor training centre for cyclists and triathletes.

I also hire Power meters so people can at least try before they buy.
User avatar
Alex Simmons/RST
Expert
 
Posts: 3373
Joined: Fri May 02, 2008 3:51 pm

Re: Using powermeter on indoor gym bikes

Postby gclark8 » Thu Jun 24, 2010 8:24 am

I have seen Power Meters on the Evolution 'air' bikes at the local Uni. 8)

I am currently re-building a Repco double BB to run 6 gears with interchangeable wheels, 6/3 blade.
Cheers,
George.
User avatar
gclark8
 
Posts: 954
Joined: Sat May 14, 2011 7:09 am
Location: Bassendean, WA

Re: Using powermeter on indoor gym bikes

Postby lennyk » Mon Jun 28, 2010 10:01 pm

The bikes in the gym do vary a lot in their calibration from bike to bike, I always try to use the same one.

anyway, I have ordered a powertap pro equipped wheelset for my bday this month.
lennyk
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2010 10:06 am

Re: Using powermeter on indoor gym bikes

Postby sogood » Tue Jul 06, 2010 12:36 pm

lennyk wrote:I recently started a powerbased 2x20(85%) regimen...

85% of what?
Bianchi, Ridley, Montague, GT, Garmin and All things Apple :)
RK wrote:And that is Wikipedia - I can write my own definition.
User avatar
sogood
 
Posts: 16907
Joined: Thu Aug 31, 2006 7:31 am
Location: Sydney AU

Re: Using powermeter on indoor gym bikes

Postby gclark8 » Tue Jul 06, 2010 12:48 pm

sogood wrote:
lennyk wrote:I recently started a powerbased 2x20(85%) regimen...

85% of what?
85% of 100% :roll:
Cheers,
George.
User avatar
gclark8
 
Posts: 954
Joined: Sat May 14, 2011 7:09 am
Location: Bassendean, WA

Re: Using powermeter on indoor gym bikes

Postby sogood » Tue Jul 06, 2010 12:55 pm

gclark8 wrote:
sogood wrote:
lennyk wrote:I recently started a powerbased 2x20(85%) regimen...

85% of what?
85% of 100% :roll:

That 100% being? :roll:
Bianchi, Ridley, Montague, GT, Garmin and All things Apple :)
RK wrote:And that is Wikipedia - I can write my own definition.
User avatar
sogood
 
Posts: 16907
Joined: Thu Aug 31, 2006 7:31 am
Location: Sydney AU

Re: Using powermeter on indoor gym bikes

Postby gclark8 » Tue Jul 06, 2010 3:01 pm

That 100% being?
Max Heart Rate.
Cheers,
George.
User avatar
gclark8
 
Posts: 954
Joined: Sat May 14, 2011 7:09 am
Location: Bassendean, WA

Re: Using powermeter on indoor gym bikes

Postby sogood » Tue Jul 06, 2010 3:15 pm

gclark8 wrote:
That 100% being?
Max Heart Rate.

If that's the case, then what's that got to do with a powermeter? The OP should have been using a HRM instead.

Hence the need to get this 85% issue clarified. :P
Bianchi, Ridley, Montague, GT, Garmin and All things Apple :)
RK wrote:And that is Wikipedia - I can write my own definition.
User avatar
sogood
 
Posts: 16907
Joined: Thu Aug 31, 2006 7:31 am
Location: Sydney AU

Re: Using powermeter on indoor gym bikes

Postby lennyk » Wed Jul 07, 2010 1:22 am

85% of 20min ftp test done with the powermeter on the gym bike,
which is a paltry 200w or so.
Mind you the gym bikes could be under rating the displayed power.
the gym bikes are cybex
lennyk
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2010 10:06 am

Re: Using powermeter on indoor gym bikes

Postby lennyk » Mon Aug 16, 2010 12:42 am

Ok, I got my Powertap last week and did a little 20min circuit.
My FTP is about 210 which is close to what I estimated on the electronic Cybex gym bikes.
Might even be a little higher if I ride the route better as it has some up/downs.

Alex, How do you guys get images of the graphs from your software ?

thanks,

L
lennyk
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2010 10:06 am

Re: Using powermeter on indoor gym bikes

Postby Alex Simmons/RST » Mon Aug 16, 2010 11:15 am

I use a screen capture tool, then save the image to an online image library, which I link to when posting images.
User avatar
Alex Simmons/RST
Expert
 
Posts: 3373
Joined: Fri May 02, 2008 3:51 pm

Re: Using powermeter on indoor gym bikes

Postby lennyk » Mon Aug 16, 2010 12:04 pm

thanks, you can also do a screen capture by just pressing CTRL-Shift and then PrintScreen keys together
and then opening the Paint program and choosing Edit/Paste.

Lennard
lennyk
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2010 10:06 am

Re: Using powermeter on indoor gym bikes

Postby jacks1071 » Wed Aug 18, 2010 10:53 pm

lennyk wrote:I recently started a powerbased 2x20(85%) regimen using the indoor bikes in the gym which have a power/watts display as well as hr, cadence etc

My previous "hard' training was a few repeats on a hill which would take me about 13mins to do and I found tended to be more anaerobic before I started to do some proper reading of the Coggan/Allen book.

I don't race or plan to but do want to raise my FTP and also improve my sprint for the little dragout we have on our weekend long ride.

I wonder if it would really be worthwhile for me to invest in a powermeter for my road bike, since I've been seeing some gains with my indoor training plus the road terrain I live in doesn't really provide for a good stretch or road to do 2x20's.
In fact I spend less time training as I can be in and out of the gym in less than 80mins in the morning for a set of 2x20's.

Anybody ?


I've gotta say that using a power metre on a trainer makes the experience a lot more bareable as the power metre keeps you focused so the time seems to pass quicker and it does seem like a much better use of your time than doing it without power...
Our Website is: http://www.pro-liteoz.com Find us on Facebook by searching for "Pro-Lite Australia"
User avatar
jacks1071
 
Posts: 2876
Joined: Thu Aug 20, 2009 9:47 pm
Location: Mackay, QLD

Re: Using powermeter on indoor gym bikes

Postby lennyk » Thu Aug 19, 2010 1:21 am

helps if the bikes are behind the treadmills with nice chicks running
lennyk
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2010 10:06 am


Return to Training

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: F-Point



Popular Bike Shops
Torpedo 7 Torpedo7 AU
Ground Effect Ground Effect NZ
Chain Reaction Cycles CRC UK
Wiggle Wiggle UK
Ebay Ebay AU



InTouch with BNA
“Bicycles BNA Twitter
“Bicycles BNA Facebook
“Google+ BNA Google+
“Bicycles BNA Newsletter