Av. Speed/Cadence by age

Mustang

Av. Speed/Cadence by age

Postby Mustang » Tue Aug 03, 2010 11:35 am

Something I would like to see as a sticky? thread would be "Senior Cycling" where we, as seniors, could compare most of the stuff you young guys talk about & where we older folks can barley remember. At the moment I do'nt have contact with other cyclists so I would like info on the following:
As a 58yo I'am struggling with an average speed of 25kph & a cadence of 84, av heart rate 134bpm I have just changed from a flat bar roadie to a small frame 2008 Giant OCR ,Shim 105.
I have been riding for a few months & seemed to have plateaued at this level, any info appreciated :?
Cheers Brent
Distance Goal 4000km
70 years young.

nickobec

Re: Av. Speed/Cadence by age

Postby nickobec » Tue Aug 03, 2010 5:58 pm

From my experience, you will keep improving over time, hit the odd plateau, improve, plateau, slow improvement, etc.

The problem with us older riders is it just takes longer to improve, but you get there in the end.

Example of improvement, last year's 60km freeway bike hike I completed in just under 2 hours on a geared bike, this year 1:46 on a singlespeed.

Me 49 years old, been riding for 4 years or so, average speed 29kph solo, cadence 75 (single speed), 95 (geared), heart rate on beta blockers after heart attack so it not for comparing, plus varies on morning vs afternoon rides.

ireland57

Postby ireland57 » Wed Aug 04, 2010 6:37 am

Basically as Nicobec says.......we get better but sometimes we have plateaus. When they happen forget about performance for a little bit and just keep riding. As long as you're not overdoing it you'll improve. We do take longer than the young ones to gain fitness and recover properly as well.
I try to have a day between hard rides, mostly for knee recovery.

I'm 53. My ave mtn bike speed has gone up 6 kmh this year.
It’ll come up a lot more yet if I can sort this knee stuff out.