Hub PowerMeter experience

The foundations for successful riding

Hub PowerMeter experience

Postby ValleyForge » Thu Feb 17, 2011 12:02 pm

I'm keen to put an ANT+ power meter on my Campy fitted bikes to use on the road & the Kurt Kinetic. Being Campy, this rules out Qarc & SRM. I'm well aware of the negative PowerTap posts, but I was wondering if they were just lemons.

Anyone have good experience with a PowerTap? Alternatives?
Ha ha! Cookies on dowels.
User avatar
ValleyForge
 
Posts: 852
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 4:37 pm
Location: Brisbane

by BNA » Thu Feb 17, 2011 1:40 pm

BNA
 

Re: Hub PowerMeter experience

Postby Alex Simmons/RST » Thu Feb 17, 2011 1:40 pm

ValleyForge wrote:I'm keen to put an ANT+ power meter on my Campy fitted bikes to use on the road & the Kurt Kinetic. Being Campy, this rules out Qarc & SRM. I'm well aware of the negative PowerTap posts, but I was wondering if they were just lemons.

Anyone have good experience with a PowerTap? Alternatives?

?

I have 3 campag bikes with an SRM on each of them.
User avatar
Alex Simmons/RST
Expert
 
Posts: 3414
Joined: Fri May 02, 2008 3:51 pm

Re: Hub PowerMeter experience

Postby ValleyForge » Thu Feb 17, 2011 3:06 pm

From my reading, it wasn't 11s compatible.
Ha ha! Cookies on dowels.
User avatar
ValleyForge
 
Posts: 852
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 4:37 pm
Location: Brisbane

Re: Hub PowerMeter experience

Postby Alex Simmons/RST » Thu Feb 17, 2011 5:19 pm

ValleyForge wrote:From my reading, it wasn't 11s compatible.

The FSA K-Force Light SRM is compatible with Campag 11-speed chainrings (or compatible rings).
User avatar
Alex Simmons/RST
Expert
 
Posts: 3414
Joined: Fri May 02, 2008 3:51 pm

Re: Hub PowerMeter experience

Postby Parrott » Thu Feb 17, 2011 8:16 pm

Is the chain on 11 speed narrower than 10 speed? A bloke in our club runs dura ace 7800 crank set with campag centaur or something group set, it works fine, 10 speed though. If the chain on 11 speed is narrower it may drop in between the rings when you come off the big ring running a 10 speed chain ring set up?
User avatar
Parrott
 
Posts: 2960
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 8:45 pm

Re: Hub PowerMeter experience

Postby ValleyForge » Thu Feb 17, 2011 9:15 pm

Alex Simmons/RST wrote:
ValleyForge wrote:From my reading, it wasn't 11s compatible.

The FSA K-Force Light SRM is compatible with Campag 11-speed chainrings (or compatible rings).


Ah-ha, the fine print comes out. Thanks for the info.
Ha ha! Cookies on dowels.
User avatar
ValleyForge
 
Posts: 852
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 4:37 pm
Location: Brisbane

Re: Hub PowerMeter experience

Postby jacks1071 » Wed Mar 02, 2011 6:44 pm

ValleyForge wrote:I'm keen to put an ANT+ power meter on my Campy fitted bikes to use on the road & the Kurt Kinetic. Being Campy, this rules out Qarc & SRM. I'm well aware of the negative PowerTap posts, but I was wondering if they were just lemons.

Anyone have good experience with a PowerTap? Alternatives?


I'm quite sure you can run a Sram Quarq with an 11sp Campy groupset. If you want to TEST it - see if a buddy will lend you his SRAM crank to try (you'll have to fit the Sram BB as well) - if it works properly with a Sram Rival, Force or Red crank then it would work with the Sram Quarq unit.
Our Website is: http://www.pro-liteoz.com Find us on Facebook by searching for "Pro-Lite Australia"
User avatar
jacks1071
 
Posts: 2897
Joined: Thu Aug 20, 2009 9:47 pm
Location: Mackay, QLD

Re: Hub PowerMeter experience

Postby JV911 » Thu Jun 02, 2011 8:31 am

<---LACC--->
<---BMC SLR01--->

User avatar
JV911
 
Posts: 5451
Joined: Mon Sep 01, 2008 1:22 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Hub PowerMeter experience

Postby Alex Simmons/RST » Thu Jun 02, 2011 9:20 am

ValleyForge wrote:
Alex Simmons/RST wrote:
ValleyForge wrote:From my reading, it wasn't 11s compatible.

The FSA K-Force Light SRM is compatible with Campag 11-speed chainrings (or compatible rings).


Ah-ha, the fine print comes out. Thanks for the info.

Actually SRM will supply 11-speed compatible rings with most models of SRM (e.g. on FSA Gossamer model) for an extra charge (I forget how much right now).
User avatar
Alex Simmons/RST
Expert
 
Posts: 3414
Joined: Fri May 02, 2008 3:51 pm

Re: Hub PowerMeter experience

Postby ajmit3 » Sat Jun 04, 2011 1:27 pm



It sounds like a good deal - but you are better off going for the Elite or above after a bit of further reading on the powertap website. The reason is the comp is not compatible with ANT devices, and has its own head unit. Was looking at wiggle and the Powertap elite plus with a wheel with 20% discount ... was $885.34 :shock: Still, worth $100 more to get the elite IMO.
ajmit3
 
Posts: 424
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 2:34 am


Return to Training

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users



Popular Bike Shops
Torpedo 7 Torpedo7 AU
Ground Effect Ground Effect NZ
Chain Reaction Cycles CRC UK
Wiggle Wiggle UK
Ebay Ebay AU

“Bicycles BNA Twitter
“Bicycles BNA Facebook
“Google+ BNA Google+
“Bicycles BNA Newsletter

> FREE BNA Stickers
> BNA Cycling Kit