VO2Max

The foundations for successful riding

VO2Max

Postby vander » Mon Aug 22, 2011 7:21 pm

I am wondering if anyone on here has got a VO2max test? If you have how did you go?
I just started training and got one today as a starting point and I wanted to know how far off being competitive I am.
vander

by BNA » Mon Aug 22, 2011 7:56 pm

BNA

Re: VO2Max

Postby toolonglegs » Mon Aug 22, 2011 7:56 pm

Knowing your VO2 max is interesting...but not that important...it may tell you what your possibilities may be...but not what they will be.
Knowing what watts you can hold for 5 secs / 1 min / 5min / 1hour then working out your power to weight ratio will tell you everything you need to know in cycling.
SO are you in the 80's or 90's :P .
toolonglegs

Postby vander » Mon Aug 22, 2011 8:20 pm

toolonglegs wrote:Knowing your VO2 max is interesting...but not that important...it may tell you what your possibilities may be...but not what they will be.
Knowing what watts you can hold for 5 secs / 1 min / 5min / 1hour then working out your power to weight ratio will tell you everything you need to know in cycling.
SO are you in the 80's or 90's :P .

You can mostly extrapolate those values from a VO2max test. Those Wattage values do the same thing they tell you your possibilities but not what they will be. Im going to use VO2max tests as a way of monitoring my training. I am already planning the next one in about 6 weeks to see how i improve. VO2 is just another tool, and i thought it was meant to be more exact then the power outputs.
vander

Postby Eberbachl » Mon Aug 22, 2011 8:23 pm

How expensive is a V02 max test, and where did you have it done?
Eberbachl

Postby toolonglegs » Mon Aug 22, 2011 8:54 pm

toolonglegs

Postby vander » Mon Aug 22, 2011 8:59 pm

Eberbachl wrote:How expensive is a V02 max test, and where did you have it done?