do any of you 'bodybuild'?

ftssjk

do any of you 'bodybuild'?

Postby ftssjk » Tue Oct 04, 2011 9:52 pm

do any of you body build (or build up your body)?
not in a 'competitive' mr universe arnold schwarzenegger way, but in a decent effort sort of way.
I know it doesn't really give you much power, but I had an idea of first body building as the 'main goal', then using cycling as cardio, (i can't really swim, and i'm not very good at jogging). Then after a while to 'cut' i'd just be cycling heaps.

thoughts?

My ideal physique would be around 80kg with a body fat % of around 8%.
at the moment i'm 70kg. Not sure how much body fat i am, but i will buy some calipers one day lol.

vander

Re: do any of you 'bodybuild'?

Postby vander » Tue Oct 04, 2011 10:17 pm

Bodybuilding is a very tough thing to do and get right. Lifting weights properly with good technique and effectively is hard enough. Getting your diet in order is a lot harder. It took me about 1year to 1.5years of stuffing around to get it right. While I was not body building for comp etc I was lifting weights a lot and had a very good idea of what was going into my mouth. To the point I had a very good idea of how many calories I would take in every day etc. Another thing with bodybuilding is you cant ever stopped. I moved house and in about 3 weeks of not having everything perfect I lost a lot (that was at the start of the year) never really got back into it. By the way I was at about 80kg and probably around 10% at my peak (I am about 179cm tall). This was with not much legs training as I have bad knees.

When I was bulking I did almost no cardio. When I was cutting I did a tiny bit of HIIT about 20-30min 3-5 times a week. Cardio is really not necessary with bodybuilding and can have a deleterious effect. So cycling and bodybuilding don't really go together too well. Saying that I am just getting back into lifting weights regularly again after a good 8-10weeks off.