Power meter usage, every ride?

The foundations for successful riding

Power meter usage, every ride?

Postby Strawburger » Mon Nov 05, 2012 9:24 am

Hi All,

Hopefully a quick question. Do you track every ride you do with a power meter or only power specific rides?

Why I ask is I vary my rides (commute, training, racing) so I'm wondering if I should log everything or just specific training and racing rides? Does not tracking commutes throw out CTL significantly?

cheers

SB
n=10 (2013 & 2004 roads,2010 track,2x 2009 foldups,1990 hybrid,1992 trainer,2007 rental,1970's step through,1980's zeus)
User avatar
Strawburger
 
Posts: 1166
Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2008 12:19 pm
Location: Dulwich Hill, Sydney

by BNA » Mon Nov 05, 2012 9:40 am

BNA
 

Re: Power meter usage, every ride?

Postby ZepinAtor » Mon Nov 05, 2012 9:40 am

Coaches orders !!! EVERY ride !!!

As far as I know your T.S.B (training stress balance), C.T.L (chronic training load--long term) & A.T.L (active training load--short term) are all effected to some degree by every ride you do.

If you don't track every ride the accuracy of your recovery periods would be thrown out as would everything else for that matter.

A good example would be if you had a tough TT session planned for the evening (say 5 x 10 min flat out) & you did a 50km commute on the same day your results could look quite poor or down on the norm.

If your 50km commute was taken into account your daily session would most probably be changed to 50km endurance & 2 x 10 min TT that evening.

Depends how serious you are about the whole thing really ?
Last edited by ZepinAtor on Mon Nov 05, 2012 9:45 am, edited 1 time in total.
Gas propulsion.......it's natural don't fight it.
User avatar
ZepinAtor
 
Posts: 1404
Joined: Fri Nov 26, 2010 6:46 pm
Location: Brizzzzbane Everton Hillzzzz

Re: Power meter usage, every ride?

Postby twizzle » Mon Nov 05, 2012 9:44 am

Log everything.
I ride, therefore I am.
...real cyclists don't have squeaky chains...
User avatar
twizzle
 
Posts: 6382
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2008 11:45 am
Location: Taking a break.

Re: Power meter usage, every ride?

Postby Alex Simmons/RST » Mon Nov 05, 2012 9:53 am

Strawburger wrote:Hi All,

Hopefully a quick question. Do you track every ride you do with a power meter or only power specific rides?

Why I ask is I vary my rides (commute, training, racing) so I'm wondering if I should log everything or just specific training and racing rides? Does not tracking commutes throw out CTL significantly?

cheers

SB

Commuting is part of CTL.
User avatar
Alex Simmons/RST
Expert
 
Posts: 3250
Joined: Fri May 02, 2008 3:51 pm

Re: Power meter usage, every ride?

Postby Strawburger » Mon Nov 05, 2012 10:08 am

Great! That confirms what I had thought. Thank you all for your help.

For people logging every ride, what solutions do they use for multiple bikes (ie road, tt & track)? Do they invest in multiple pm's? Eg. crank based for road/tt (easy swap) and hub based for track?

Thanks again
n=10 (2013 & 2004 roads,2010 track,2x 2009 foldups,1990 hybrid,1992 trainer,2007 rental,1970's step through,1980's zeus)
User avatar
Strawburger
 
Posts: 1166
Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2008 12:19 pm
Location: Dulwich Hill, Sydney

Re: Power meter usage, every ride?

Postby Nobody » Mon Nov 05, 2012 10:36 am

Just wait until they are cheap enough to put on every bike. By then, it might not matter anymore and you've saved a lot of money. Just a thought. OK I'll get out off this thread now and let you get back to spending.
Last edited by Nobody on Mon Nov 05, 2012 1:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Nobody
 
Posts: 6491
Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2008 12:10 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Power meter usage, every ride?

Postby twizzle » Mon Nov 05, 2012 12:08 pm

Strawburger wrote:Great! That confirms what I had thought. Thank you all for your help.

For people logging every ride, what solutions do they use for multiple bikes (ie road, tt & track)? Do they invest in multiple pm's? Eg. crank based for road/tt (easy swap) and hub based for track?

Thanks again


I have two PowerTaps one built into an open-pro (yuck!), one build into a Deep-V (heavy). jcjordan has a Power2Max crank, it takes him about ten minutes to swap it between bikes. Given that PT's aren't cheap any more (no base "Comp" model any more), a crank based might make more sense... but you still end up with a seperate "track" setup, and there's always the temptation to have spare setups to ensure you don't have any down time. I'm not sure about this "left crank only" power meter which is coming out shortly, most people favour one leg, and the %'age of difference probably changes between endurance / sprint / climbing. Rotor is bringing out 'dual' crank arms soon, looks nicely thought out.
I ride, therefore I am.
...real cyclists don't have squeaky chains...
User avatar
twizzle
 
Posts: 6382
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2008 11:45 am
Location: Taking a break.

Re: Power meter usage, every ride?

Postby ZepinAtor » Mon Nov 05, 2012 2:55 pm

Strawburger wrote:
For people logging every ride, what solutions do they use for multiple bikes ?........ Do they invest in multiple pm's?


Unfortunately yes.

Otherwise you can play the swap the PT wheel from bike to bike game.

I was really looking forward to the release of the pedal based (Vector) system which is on hold indefinitely.

Although when looking at the Vector system it looked like the individual batteries/transmitters on each crank arm needed quite a bit of frame clearance + there wasn't any mention of an MTB style pedal. Which come to think of it would be interesting when crunching the occasional rock or log.
Gas propulsion.......it's natural don't fight it.
User avatar
ZepinAtor
 
Posts: 1404
Joined: Fri Nov 26, 2010 6:46 pm
Location: Brizzzzbane Everton Hillzzzz

Re: Power meter usage, every ride?

Postby Alex Simmons/RST » Mon Nov 05, 2012 4:51 pm

You can of course simply estimate TSS for non-power meter rides - much depends on what you are using the data for, and what proportion of the data will be estimated versus actual.
User avatar
Alex Simmons/RST
Expert
 
Posts: 3250
Joined: Fri May 02, 2008 3:51 pm

Re: Power meter usage, every ride?

Postby ZepinAtor » Mon Nov 05, 2012 5:16 pm

Has anybody had any experience with the ibike Newton ?

I have no idea about this devise, but I have a friend who's interested.
Gas propulsion.......it's natural don't fight it.
User avatar
ZepinAtor
 
Posts: 1404
Joined: Fri Nov 26, 2010 6:46 pm
Location: Brizzzzbane Everton Hillzzzz

Re: Power meter usage, every ride?

Postby twizzle » Mon Nov 05, 2012 8:39 pm

ZepinAtor wrote:Has anybody had any experience with the ibike Newton ?

I have no idea about this devise, but I have a friend who's interested.


Still shite.


Sent from my iThingy...
I ride, therefore I am.
...real cyclists don't have squeaky chains...
User avatar
twizzle
 
Posts: 6382
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2008 11:45 am
Location: Taking a break.

Re: Power meter usage, every ride?

Postby Ross » Tue Nov 06, 2012 6:45 pm

ZepinAtor wrote:

I was really looking forward to the release of the pedal based (Vector) system which is on hold indefinitely.



The Polar Look Keo pedals are available but are around $1700 and aren't ANT+ compatible
Image
User avatar
Ross
 
Posts: 3401
Joined: Sat Nov 07, 2009 7:53 pm

Re: Power meter usage, every ride?

Postby jcjordan » Tue Nov 06, 2012 8:31 pm

Ross wrote:
ZepinAtor wrote:

I was really looking forward to the release of the pedal based (Vector) system which is on hold indefinitely.



The Polar Look Keo pedals are available but are around $1700 and aren't ANT+ compatible

And based on every review I have seen so far is less reliable then their older system.


Sent from my HTC Sensation Z710a using Tapatalk 2
James
Veni, Vidi, Vespa -- I Came, I Saw, I Rode Home
jcjordan
 
Posts: 1040
Joined: Sat Nov 08, 2008 2:58 pm

Re: Power meter usage, every ride?

Postby Strawburger » Thu Nov 08, 2012 8:16 pm

Thanks again for all your info. Looks like a costly exercise if I'm to put pm's on the road/tt and track bike if going for new equipment (slightly better for 2nd hand). Don't see many 2nd hand powertaps around for the track.

Polar is out (I'm decked out in ant+), haven't heard good things about the stageone, ibike is also not flash so may have to get a crank pm now (srm/quark/p2m) and wait for the vector sometime in the next 10 years :lol:
n=10 (2013 & 2004 roads,2010 track,2x 2009 foldups,1990 hybrid,1992 trainer,2007 rental,1970's step through,1980's zeus)
User avatar
Strawburger
 
Posts: 1166
Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2008 12:19 pm
Location: Dulwich Hill, Sydney

Re: Power meter usage, every ride?

Postby toolonglegs » Thu Nov 08, 2012 8:26 pm

I am still thinking of getting another power meter. But racing in cyclocross, TT, MTB and road there is no way I will be putting a meter on every bike. I think once you have spent a bit of time training to a power meter then you know what feels right for an effort anyway. If I do get a powertap then it will only be used for testing... just a confirmation that everything is going to plan.
Although Strava has a habit of telling me if I am on plan as well. My 5 second power is genetic... all the rest 1,5,20 and hour power I can easily test on a climb or a loop and compare to when I know I was riding strong.
But then I seem to ride better on feel than looking at numbers.
Image
User avatar
toolonglegs
 
Posts: 14044
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2007 7:49 pm
Location: Somewhere with padded walls and really big hills!

Re: Power meter usage, every ride?

Postby nickobec » Thu Nov 08, 2012 10:17 pm

Yes track everything, particularly my commute aka training rides. Those done with out a power meter ie my singlespeed and six speed I estimate my TSS, usually based on HR, perceived exertion, time and weather conditions on a known route with lots of existing data.

Have Elite+ Powertap laced to mavic open pro rim as my training wheelset, ended up rebuilding it after 5 broken spokes, complete wheelset (front & rear) weights over 3kg.

So got a G3 PT and laced that to 50mm lightweight chinese carbon rim, depending if I use 60mm or 38mm matching front wheelset is close to 900m lighter for my racing wheelset. Having some issues with transmitting data, if the new firmware does not fix my powercap (not the whole wheel or hub) is off to Wisconsin.

2nd hand power meters from the UK (this is where I bought my Elite+ wheel from) : http://www.cyclepowermeters.com/used-ex-rental-powermeters-141-c.asp

And if you are after G3 PT hub, little over $1k from the US
User avatar
nickobec
 
Posts: 1417
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2009 11:51 pm
Location: Perth or 42km south as the singlespeed flies

Re: Power meter usage, every ride?

Postby twizzle » Fri Nov 09, 2012 8:22 am

nickobec wrote:So got a G3 PT...


*sigh*

I'm jealous.
I ride, therefore I am.
...real cyclists don't have squeaky chains...
User avatar
twizzle
 
Posts: 6382
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2008 11:45 am
Location: Taking a break.

Re: Power meter usage, every ride?

Postby toolonglegs » Fri Nov 09, 2012 8:24 am

twizzle wrote:
nickobec wrote:So got a G3 PT...


*sigh*

I'm jealous.


Why?... you make 360 w ish at ftp :P .
Image
User avatar
toolonglegs
 
Posts: 14044
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2007 7:49 pm
Location: Somewhere with padded walls and really big hills!

Re: Power meter usage, every ride?

Postby twizzle » Fri Nov 09, 2012 10:49 am

toolonglegs wrote:
twizzle wrote:
nickobec wrote:So got a G3 PT...


*sigh*

I'm jealous.


Why?... you make 360 w ish at ftp :P .


My "comp" models are getting a little old. Pawls sticking in the freehubs, replacement freehubs only seem to come in alloy, not steel. The wiring harness is a bit fragile, the wires fatigue and die. The docking station suffers from the pins sticking... A G3 in 28 spoke with a carbon rim and a Garmin 800 are high on my wish list. Right after "lose another 9Kg".

93.4Kg - weight has plateaued again. :(
I ride, therefore I am.
...real cyclists don't have squeaky chains...
User avatar
twizzle
 
Posts: 6382
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2008 11:45 am
Location: Taking a break.

Re: Power meter usage, every ride?

Postby snedden9485 » Sun Dec 30, 2012 8:59 pm

Power2max. $1100 AU and swaps between bikes in 3 min. Easy.
Chris
2011 Giant TCR Advanced SL
2011 Malvern Star Oppy TT9 Time Trial
2011 Giant Omnium Track
2012 Giant XTC Composite 29
User avatar
snedden9485
 
Posts: 1446
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 8:25 am
Location: Newcastle, NSW, AU

Re: Power meter usage, every ride?

Postby toolonglegs » Sun Dec 30, 2012 10:08 pm

twizzle wrote:
toolonglegs wrote:
twizzle wrote:[quote="nickobec"]So got a G3 PT...


*sigh*

I'm jealous.


Why?... you make 360 w ish at ftp :P .


My "comp" models are getting a little old. Pawls sticking in the freehubs, replacement freehubs only seem to come in alloy, not steel. The wiring harness is a bit fragile, the wires fatigue and die. The docking station suffers from the pins sticking... A G3 in 28 spoke with a carbon rim and a Garmin 800 are high on my wish list. Right after "lose another 9Kg".

93.4Kg - weight has plateaued again. :([/quote]
Cyclepowermeters.com have or are going to do ti freewheel bodies.
Image
User avatar
toolonglegs
 
Posts: 14044
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2007 7:49 pm
Location: Somewhere with padded walls and really big hills!

Re: Power meter usage, every ride?

Postby mikesbytes » Sun Dec 30, 2012 11:01 pm

Has anyone investigated the power meters that work within pedals? I too are wondering about the swap between bikes situation.

I do see you can get a crank set that can be used with one track ring or 2 road rings (AT) BCD144, which limits your small ring to ? 42
A helmet saved my life
User avatar
mikesbytes
Super Mod
Super Mod
 
Posts: 14536
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 10:42 pm
Location: Tempe, Sydney

Re: Power meter usage, every ride?

Postby orbeas » Mon Dec 31, 2012 2:02 am

:idea: :) im suprised their isnt an Iphone app for that or is their
Orbea Euskaltel:Ultegra,Durace,RS80
Orbea Erandio Hybrid
orbeas
 
Posts: 462
Joined: Sun Aug 08, 2010 4:06 pm
Location: Perth. WA

Re: Power meter usage, every ride?

Postby clackers » Mon Dec 31, 2012 3:01 am

orbeas wrote::idea: :) im suprised their isnt an Iphone app for that or is their


That makes up "power" numbers without the necessary sensors, Orbeas? I'm sure there is! :smile:
User avatar
clackers
 
Posts: 1738
Joined: Mon May 16, 2011 10:48 am
Location: Melbourne

Re: Power meter usage, every ride?

Postby toolonglegs » Mon Dec 31, 2012 3:06 am

It's called Strava ;-)
Image
User avatar
toolonglegs
 
Posts: 14044
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2007 7:49 pm
Location: Somewhere with padded walls and really big hills!

Next

Return to Training

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot]



Support BNA
Click for online shops
Torpedo 7 Torpedo7 AU
Ground Effect Ground Effect NZ
Chain Reaction Cycles CRC UK
Wiggle Wiggle UK
Cycling Express Cycling Express
Ebay Ebay AU
ProBikeKit ProBikeKit UK
Evans Cycles Evans Cycles UK
JensonUSA Jenson USA
JensonUSA Competitive Cyclist