Bryton Rider 310T review - commuter perspective

Boognoss
Super Mod
Super Mod

Bryton Rider 310T review - commuter perspective

Postby Boognoss » Thu May 12, 2016 3:03 pm

About me

I'm a 12000+km p.a. commuter about 90% of the time and recreational the other 10%. Round trip is 50km if I don't throw in extras so I fall into the roadie/lycra-wearing category as well as transportation cyclist. Plain clothes for me are just not feasible (I'm a heavy perspirer). I ride in all conditions, but unfortunately for the 2 month Bryton test (and fortunately for me ;)) I didn't encounter torrential rain. Only light showers a few times.

Caveat

I've been using Garmin GPS computers since 2008. I've had the Edge 305, Edge 705, Forerunner 910XT (with mount conversion kit to use the twist mount system on my bikes) and finally and currently the Edge 1000.

I am firmly entrenched in the Garmin ecosystem so this review will contain comparisons/differences comparing Bryton and Garmin devices and interfaces.

If you want to see the images closer up, just click on them below. A full res. version will load.

How tiny is it! a.k.a the unboxing

Pen for size comparison.

In the box - (clockwise from left) startup guide, the computer, micro-USB cable, HRM, cadence sensor, mount.

Setup screen 1 - pick your language.

Setup screen 2 - pick your units of measurement.

Splash screen - job done in two simple steps.

On the bike - a busy dashboard

Initial impressions and mounting.

As you can see I mounted the Bryton on the stem, there wasn't really much more space for it. The mount while similar to Garmin's twist mount system is not compatible. I tried the Bryton on the K-Edge out front mount and it was too loose to securely mount it.