Nutrition

I'm not a doctor but… 
Cycling injury, recovery and health issues.
Forum rules
The information / discussion in the Cycling Health Forum is not qualified medical advice. Please consult your doctor.

Nutrition

Postby Isabella » Sun Jun 27, 2010 1:10 pm

This is an area I am definately lacking in ... any thoughts or help on what's good cycling nutrition before/after a ride etc etc
I'm trying to lean out but maintain my muscle and hopefully grow some more muscle but with minimal fat :D

Maybe someone knows a good link or book for raining / cycling nutrition or supplements ... any help much appreciated
Isabella

by BNA » Sun Jun 27, 2010 3:20 pm

BNA

Re: Nutrition

Postby Chaderotti » Sun Jun 27, 2010 3:20 pm

I'm not too fussed to be honest. I just eat what ever (except sugar). On rides I just eat uncle tobies muesli bars and they get me through. Had my longest ride in a fair while after a month off (only 75 km :P) got home and ate a handful of Jaffas. Woke up this morning feeling fine.

Hope someone else can answer your question better than I can :mrgreen:
Princess
Mistress = Pinarello Opera, Ultegra SL
Mistress #2 = Drag Bluebird
Chaderotti

Postby toolonglegs » Sun Jun 27, 2010 3:50 pm

This is OK...
I have this on order...
toolonglegs

Postby wombatK » Sun Jun 27, 2010 5:14 pm

Isabella wrote:Maybe someone knows a good link or book for raining / cycling nutrition or supplements ... any help much appreciated

Sports Dietitians Australia are university accredited experts in this area. They have a number of pretty useful fact sheets such as this Eating and Drinking During and After Sport

If you want to build muscle, you need protein and there's good evidence that the maximum benefit from protein comes if you have it within an hour of completing exercise. Just make sure your overall calorie intake is not exceeding your energy expenditure, and you won't lay down fat.
WombatK