Toes Going Numb?

I'm not a doctor but… 
Cycling injury, recovery and health issues.
Forum rules
The information / discussion in the Cycling Health Forum is not qualified medical advice. Please consult your doctor.

Toes Going Numb?

Postby stang1 » Thu Jul 15, 2010 7:30 pm

As above stated, My toes goes NUMB, possibly lack of/constriction of blood flow to my toes after some good KM's. Any thoughts on this? Size 44 LG Shoe. Might it be my thick socks? Opinions handy ! :)
stang1

by BNA » Thu Jul 15, 2010 7:39 pm

BNA

Re: Toes Going Numb?

Postby Mulger bill » Thu Jul 15, 2010 7:39 pm

Thick socks are a big possibility.

As your feet tend to swell a fair bit when riding you may need a size larger if you want thick socks.
For a cheap attempt at a fix, scrunch your toes up and tense your foot as you do the shoes up, once relaxed you'll have a little more room.
...whatever the road rules, self-preservation is the absolute priority for a cyclist when mixing it with motorised traffic.
London Boy 29/12/2011
Mulger bill
Super Mod
Super Mod

Postby stang1 » Thu Jul 15, 2010 7:52 pm

Mulger bill wrote:Thick socks are a big possibility.

As your feet tend to swell a fair bit when riding you may need a size larger if you want thick socks.
For a cheap attempt at a fix, scrunch your toes up and tense your foot as you do the shoes up, once relaxed you'll have a little more room.

Thanks! Will give it a shot tomorrow :wink:
stang1

Postby flammer » Sat Jul 17, 2010 11:18 pm

When I ended my ride today, I realised that the front half of my foot was numb - with cold. It was 10C before I rode up into the Strathbogies. At Boho Sth it was no more than 5. Add some wind chill and the quick downhills were bracing. :shock:

The the Strathbogie shopkeeper said that it was warmer in the big fridge than outside of it this morning; -3.5!

To add to what Bill said, get out of the seat more often and get the circulation flowing.
The Tao is like a bellows: 
it is empty yet infinitely capable.