Muscle soreness. Tips, hints, supplements?

I'm not a doctor but… 
Cycling injury, recovery and health issues.
Forum rules
The information / discussion in the Cycling Health Forum is not qualified medical advice. Please consult your doctor.

Muscle soreness. Tips, hints, supplements?

Postby goldy_commuter » Tue Aug 03, 2010 8:17 pm

Hi,

I've been commuting 40km daily to work for 5 weeks and can't get rid of that muscle soreness you usually get after a weights workout though its not really bad. Just slight muscle aches in calf, quads, and more recently gluts(which may be due to new flat bar road bike seat and/or more aggressive position compared the mtb).

I have not ridden for a while but I have never experienced this lingering muscle soreness.

I have just started taking a protein powder supplement two days ago.

Anything else?
Current rides:
Giant alias '08 with weeride tag a long
Malvern Star OPPY '10 2AF flat bar
Malvern Star Elite '85 12 speed road bike
goldy_commuter

by BNA » Tue Aug 03, 2010 8:30 pm

BNA

Re: Muscle soreness. Tips, hints, supplements?

Postby Anakist » Tue Aug 03, 2010 8:30 pm

I am starting to get it again. I think it is just general soreness from the new level of muscle use. Hopefully once they get up to strength we will be pain free.

James
Bikes:
2010 Merida Cyclo Cross 4 Disc
2006 Avanti Escape with slicks and "Upgraditis"
2008 Buell 1125r
Anakist

Postby jules21 » Tue Aug 03, 2010 9:53 pm

stretch. i find that if i don't, eventually my muscles tighten up and start causing me soreness/niggles.
jules21

Postby lethoso » Wed Aug 04, 2010 9:16 pm

Anakist wrote:I think it is just general soreness from the new level of muscle use.

took me a month or two to get used to commuting to work by bike.

More sleep, and more food helps :)
lethoso

Postby trailgumby » Wed Aug 04, 2010 10:15 pm