fatigue

I'm not a doctor but… 
Cycling injury, recovery and health issues.
Forum rules
The information / discussion in the Cycling Health Forum is not qualified medical advice. Please consult your doctor.

fatigue

Postby jules21 » Thu Nov 04, 2010 10:19 pm

for 3 weeks now, i've been fatigued. i commute daily and my power output is right down. possible causes:
1. virus, according to doctor. but i don't have any other obvious symptoms. i had a blood sample taken and they didn't call me back, so it must be OK. they also declined to put it back in.
2. stress/exhuastion. i've had some additional stress lately and haven't always slept soundly.

does anyone experience this sort of thing? it's strange, i can still complete long rides - i ride to basketball which is about 3 hours including the game, but just at a lower intensity. the moment i try to go above a threshold effort the lactic acid and/or tiredness kicks straight in. it's like there's a governor fitted to my engine.

i've had this before, but it has disappeared after a few days. i just assumed it was a cold or virus or something, but 3 weeks is a long time.
jules21

by BNA » Thu Nov 04, 2010 10:28 pm

BNA

Re: fatigue

Postby m@ » Thu Nov 04, 2010 10:28 pm

Have you tried taking a few days off from the bike?
harmonix1234 wrote:Forecast for Hobart next week is rain, sleet, ice and all kinds of hell.
HTFU harmonix.
m@
Super Mod
Super Mod

Postby jules21 » Thu Nov 04, 2010 10:32 pm

no, but i'm going to thailand for 3 weeks on sunday so it will be interesting to see how i feel when i return.

this is beyond just normal tiredness after a hard ride though, it's different.
Last edited by jules21 on Thu Nov 04, 2010 10:33 pm, edited 1 time in total.
jules21

Postby casual_cyclist » Thu Nov 04, 2010 10:32 pm

I have had it before.