Hot spots on feet

I'm not a doctor but… 
Cycling injury, recovery and health issues.
Forum rules
The information / discussion in the Cycling Health Forum is not qualified medical advice. Please consult your doctor.

Hot spots on feet

Postby nickobec » Sat Feb 12, 2011 12:07 am

Been riding for a few years, use 3 bikes regularly, two roadies with spd pedals and a singlespeed with clipins.

I have made big improve my performance of the past few months and now I am getting hotspots in my feet right above the cleats on either road bike, with either pair of shoes (5 year old Specialized MTB shoes and 18 month old carbon soled Nike) and quite different pedals

The last few rides have been really painful. So I finally tried my my Pearl Isuma road shoes and SPD-SL pedals. Even worse, my feet really hurt, (not I did set some fast times, before having to stopped after 25km to massage my feet.

My singlespeed (which is only 55cm frame compared to 58cm for the roadies and far more aggressive position), I was not suffering the same problem. Though I got sore feet after a 40km ride last week, that I originally put do to aggravating my sore feet from riding in cleats the day before.

So I swapped to cages for a week on one roadie. The first couple of rides were recovery rides, no pains, though a little stiffness at the second ride. Today was a different story, riding at pace my feet where on fire, the whole width of the foot just behind the ball of the foot. I had to slow for a detour the feet recovery, before the went back into pain mode.

So any suggestion of how to fix it?
nickobec

by BNA » Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:39 am

BNA

Re: Hot spots on feet

Postby foo on patrol » Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:39 am

Have you tried loosening off the straps a bit?
I don't suffer fools easily and so long as you have done your best,you should have no regrets.
Goal 6000km
foo on patrol

Hot spots on feet

Postby sogood » Sat Feb 12, 2011 5:59 am