Bursitis & recovery

I'm not a doctor but… 
Cycling injury, recovery and health issues.
Forum rules
The information / discussion in the Cycling Health Forum is not qualified medical advice. Please consult your doctor.

Bursitis & recovery

Postby fatherofmany » Sat Mar 05, 2011 1:51 pm

Having been involved in athletics of cycling for about half my life and knowing the feel of different injuries like broken bones and pulled muscles etc I had a new one. I have had pain above my heel for a couple of months now, it subsides at night and gets worse when I walk or run. Cycling doesn't seem to iritate it. I didn't think it was a problem with the tendon as such and it had me wondering. So I went to the docs this morning after a couple of months of achilles pain. She thinks it's Bursitis, an inflammation of the bursa between the achilles tendon and the heel bone. I'm off for an ultrasound to confirm it soon as I can get an appointment. If it is confirmed then it looks like cortisone injections to the area.

Anyone else had it? Treatment? Recovery period?

Thanks for any input, FoM
15 Bikes 2 adults 6 children, 2 dogs, 10 chooks and a heck of a lot of fish
fatherofmany

Location: Central Coast NSW Australia 33°26'16"S 151°20'39.50"E ish

by BNA » Sat Mar 05, 2011 8:09 pm

BNA

Re: Bursitis & recovery

Postby Uncle Grumpy » Sat Mar 05, 2011 8:09 pm

Had one on the elbow. Actually, for some reason it got infected and I had a ripping fever and was really crook for a couple of days until the antibiotics kicked in.

For the elbow, it was just a matter of looking after it and not bump it. Let the oedema settle out over a few weeks. Didn't affect use of the elbow, just made it sore after repeated use. That was almost a year ago, and even today I get a bit tender in the elbow after doing a heavy weight session.