Carpal Tunnel Problems

I'm not a doctor but… 
Cycling injury, recovery and health issues.
Forum rules
The information / discussion in the Cycling Health Forum is not qualified medical advice. Please consult your doctor.

Carpal Tunnel Problems

Postby laufmaschine » Mon Mar 07, 2011 10:34 pm

Hi All,

I have recently been looking at road bikes with a view to buying one to get more road miles under the belt. Until now I have been riding a Hybrid.
For the last few weeks I have had numbness in my left hand and the Neurologist has confirmed I have Carpal Tunnel syndrome which I think was caused by weight training - even though I would get
occassional numbness when riding in the past. . I am now waiting on my doctor to receive the Neurologist report before taking the next step in the process (Gotta love how slow the medical profession moves).
The next step may involve cortisone injection into the wrist to provide relief to the symptoms.

Due to this issue I have put my road bike on hold for now - pity as I had decided what I wanted.

Anyway.... my questions are:

1) Does anyone have experience with Carpal Tunnel and what impact it has had on your riding?
2) Has anyone had the cortisone injections and did that fix things?
3) I a thinking the road bike gives more options for holding the bars so may be helpful with the carpal tunnel issue - any comments?

Cheers
Ken
Life is like riding a bicycle - in order to keep your balance, you must keep moving. ~Albert Einstein
laufmaschine

by BNA » Mon Mar 07, 2011 10:53 pm

BNA

Re: Carpal Tunnel Problems

Postby nutsack » Mon Mar 07, 2011 10:53 pm

I get carpal tunnel symptoms frequently when riding. For me it is related to the bike fit and bars (roadie).

My Racemaster which I had full expensive bike fit gave me carpal tunnel symptoms in both hands, I was using a 44cm width road bar with compact drops and flat top bar, and gel padding under the bar tape. I never got around to going back for a review of the fit.