Recovery drinks

I'm not a doctor but… 
Cycling injury, recovery and health issues.
Forum rules
The information / discussion in the Cycling Health Forum is not qualified medical advice. Please consult your doctor.

Recovery drinks

Postby Nitram » Wed Mar 30, 2011 8:47 am

I know this kind of question probably gets asked pretty regularly, but here goes…………

At the end of my 55km morning commute (three days per week) I'm generally a bit knackered, and typically that means fairly sore thighs and a struggle to climb the four flights of stairs that I seem to find in my path ½ dozen times each day. And the ride home is a major session of suffering, so I usually catch the train some of the way.

Anyway, a month or two ago I discovered this stuff called Aussie Bodies PROTEIN REVIVAL, with 30g of protein and 30 g of carbs. AND IT WORKS !!! If I drink it I can climb the stairs no worries, if I don't, I can't without a struggle. I've tried to be scientific about it- i.e. some days drinking the stuff, and some days not. And I've tried dinking ordinary chocolate milk, or just having a sandwich instead- they don't have the same effect at all. Tried Sustagen (cause I had some here at work) and some Endura Optimiser- didn't make any difference.

So the Protein Revival is good BUT it's so bloody expensive ! Some places charge $4.50 for the 375ml container, which seems outrageous. I went to one of these body-building places here in Parramatta to see if there was some bulk powder stuff that provided the same Protein/Carb content, and they wanted $200 for a tub of the stuff.

So here's my question: has anyone found an alternative source or product that provides the same kind of protein/carb content at an affordable price ? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers,

Martin
Nitram

by BNA » Wed Mar 30, 2011 10:55 am

BNA

Re: Recovery drinks

Postby philip » Wed Mar 30, 2011 10:55 am

Nice big glass of chocolate milk gives you all the protein/carbs you need
philip