60km ride advice

I'm not a doctor but… 
Cycling injury, recovery and health issues.
Forum rules
The information / discussion in the Cycling Health Forum is not qualified medical advice. Please consult your doctor.

60km ride advice

Postby gtfpv cycler » Thu Apr 07, 2011 3:49 pm

hi i did my 1st 60km ride today , did a 50 k ride last week , anyhow . i at a tub of yoghurt and 3 weetbix and a glass of 1/2 juice water before i left . 1hr 30 min before . i had no trouble doing the ride but only had 500ml drink bottle which ran out after 45km .i did the trip in 2hr 27 minutes av 24.5 kms an hour . the last 2 kms were hard , i couldnt wait to get off . however i felt if i'd had more time , i couldve done 80k . anyways , i'm glad i kalled it quits after 60km as i was out of water/cordial .
when i got home i had a glass of water , and an hour later another glass , i have no appetite and feel like i couldnt eat at the moment . i have a very minor stomach ache .
i am glad i didnt go further .even though i could , i'm not sure at which point i would not be doing myself justice .
if i were to ride 100kms , i would have to stop at 50km and i would have to do a more leisurely ride i think .
anyone know why the stomach cramp and no appetite after a 2 1/2 hour exercise regime ?? :?: :?:
gtfpv cycler

by BNA » Thu Apr 07, 2011 3:58 pm

BNA

Re: 60km ride advice

Postby TimW » Thu Apr 07, 2011 3:58 pm

Not sure why you cramped but as a guide here is what i do.
I ride 60 k most days 6 days per week. Before a ride i will eat a Banana.I take 2 water bottles,one filled with water, one with gatorade.After the first hour i will eat either a gel or a muesli bar or similar, and drink the gatorade alternately with the water.
After the ride, i will either have a protein shake with skim milk.Or chicken on wholemeal toast, or a cut up banana on wholemeal toast with honey.