Pain in the hips - seat position??

I'm not a doctor but… 
Cycling injury, recovery and health issues.
Forum rules
The information / discussion in the Cycling Health Forum is not qualified medical advice. Please consult your doctor.

Pain in the hips - seat position??

Postby smiddo » Mon May 02, 2011 9:21 pm

After some advice other than get a bike fit as I'm over 500k from the big smoke and not able to buy a new bike at the moment (it is on the cards but isn't it always)

Have ridden on and off over the years but have recently started slowly building up the distance again over about a 2 month period - starting about 25k and now up to riding 60k. I've started getting a bit of an ache/pain in the hips which is not too bad but slightly niggling and annoying - not sure if is just a fatigue thing or maybe something along the lines of seat set up.

Can anyone give some general advice re how to correctly set the seat position so I can see if that changes anything. Not sure if the seat is too far back/forward.

My bike is an old OCR3 that has had a few incarnations from the original, singlespeed and now back as a roadie again and never really had a problem before but alas I'm not as young as I used to be. Probably answering my own question as well but I get very stiff in the lower back after a ride so probably need to stretch more.

Cheers

Shane
smiddo

by BNA » Mon May 02, 2011 9:33 pm

BNA

Re: Pain in the hips - seat position??

Postby trailgumby » Mon May 02, 2011 9:33 pm

+1 to stretching. Lower back pain could be triggered by having the seat too far back and/or too high. The latter in particular leads to rocking the pelvis to maintain control of yoru foot at the bottom of the stroke, which stresses oru lower back and teh Sacro-illiac joints in particular.

Try lowering your seat so that at the bottom of the stroke you get a 25-30 degree bend at the knee. Google the term KOPS (Aka Knee Over Pedal Spindle) for a starting point for fore/aft position.
trailgumby