Are these shoes too small ?

I'm not a doctor but… 
Cycling injury, recovery and health issues.
Forum rules
The information / discussion in the Cycling Health Forum is not qualified medical advice. Please consult your doctor.

Are these shoes too small ?

Postby giantguy » Sun Jun 26, 2011 12:16 pm

I have recently bought some shimano mt 42 shoes online and started using them. I normally wear a size 9 shoe so I ordered a size 43 Euro.

The first thing I noticed once received and trying them on was the tightness. A search on the net said to expect cycling shoes to be tighter than normal shoes. I have used them a few times and they feel fine until about 20 minutes I start to get some numbness. Wearing thinner socks and loosening the laces seems to make it better and soon I will try changing cleat position as well.

My main concern is my toes hit the end of the shoe a little. Is this normal or should there be more room ? I can wiggle them a little but I am used to not having my toes hit the end when wearing other shoes. I measured my foot length from heel to end of the big toe and it measures 26cm. When I measure inside the shoe it measures 26.5 - 27cm. Should there be more clearance than this ?

I am considering buying another pair of shoes the next size up at size 44 to see if it feels more comfortable with the thought that if its too loose I can wear some thicker socks.

So should I just put up with the shoes I have now or try the next size up by buying another pair and hoping its not too loose?
Thanks
giantguy

by BNA » Mon Jun 27, 2011 1:41 pm

BNA

Re: Are these shoes too small ?

Postby roobab » Mon Jun 27, 2011 1:41 pm

Definitely too tight. I am Euro 45 and have wide feet and tried on Shimano size 45 and they were way too tight.
I ended up getting Specialized and they fit perfectly. I have heard that this is a problem with Shimano shoes.
Also Northwave are supposed to fit better too.
roobab

Postby Davobel » Mon Jun 27, 2011 10:55 pm

Yes they are.