Tips for minimising a sore backside for a new commuter

I'm not a doctor but… 
Cycling injury, recovery and health issues.
Forum rules
The information / discussion in the Cycling Health Forum is not qualified medical advice. Please consult your doctor.

Postby tjanssen » Sat Sep 17, 2011 7:26 am

I have changed jobs recently and from the change, it has become feasible to ride to work. Whilst I have been riding on and off for a while now, I find that with my new touring bike (a Marin Point Reyes 29er from Smiths in Fyshwick. They are good people!!!) that I am getting a sore backside when doing distances longer than 40km. My regular commute will be 14km each way but yesterday that was disrupted due to the chemical fire out at Mitchell ;) I have padded bike pants but nothing else. If people can give me some tips, that would be great.

P.S. Digging this forum. It has been quite helpful indeed :)
tjanssen

by BNA » Sat Sep 17, 2011 1:58 pm

BNA

Postby Redbull » Sat Sep 17, 2011 1:58 pm

Ride more, ride more often. It will pass.
The trouble with jogging is that the ice falls out of your glass
Redbull

Re: Tips for minimising a sore backside for a new commuter

Postby Oxford » Sat Sep 17, 2011 2:26 pm

what Redbull said, plus look at your saddle, maybe go for a harder one which seems counter intuitive, but the longer you ride the less padding you want. the more padding you have the more you sink into the saddle and the more pressure is placed on parts of your anatomy that will not be comfortable.

also make sure your knicks are clean for each ride, using the same ones to commute each way is not a real drama, but cleaning them at night for the next day would be advisable, this limits the potential for bacteria to accumulate and create a potentially infectious situation.
Life is not about waiting for the rain to pass.....it's about learning to dance (or ride) in the rain.
- anonymous
Oxford

Postby trailgumby » Sat Sep 17, 2011 3:30 pm