Numbness

I'm not a doctor but… 
Cycling injury, recovery and health issues.
Forum rules
The information / discussion in the Cycling Health Forum is not qualified medical advice. Please consult your doctor.

Numbness

Postby matyb » Thu Oct 06, 2011 10:30 am

Hey guys,

New to road cycling and experiencing numbness in the baby making equipment, nearly two weeks after a 60km ride things are not back to normal....I am hoping others have had the same experience? The problem was the saddle and bike set up which has since been rectified...I think.
matyb

by BNA » Thu Oct 06, 2011 10:49 am

BNA

Re: Numbness

Postby twizzle » Thu Oct 06, 2011 10:49 am

I'd be seeking professional advice on that one.
I ride, therefore I am.
...real cyclists don't have squeaky chains...
twizzle

Postby matyb » Thu Oct 06, 2011 11:12 am

twizzle wrote:I'd be seeking professional advice on that one.

not what i was hoping to hear....but not unexpected!
matyb

Postby goneriding » Thu Oct 06, 2011 11:18 am

Have you continued to ride the bike since the numbness started? I'd suggest you probably need to stay off the bike until things get back to normal and if numbness persists go and visit your friendly neighbourhood GP for an enlightening discussion.

Some of these types of problems occur when you are new to riding due to a lack of strength/conditioning in the areas cycling uses. A bit of work on core strength will generally help.
goneriding

Postby Schmenz » Thu Oct 06, 2011 11:31 am

I'd see your gp. I'd there are any bowel or bladder changes, or numbness in the area where a horse saddle would sit rather than just a focal point, go today!
Newbie to the cycling world.
2011 Giant TCR Advanced W
http://www.sea2summit2011.blogspot.com
Schmenz

Postby twizzle » Thu Oct 06, 2011 12:13 pm

matyb wrote:
twizzle wrote:I'd be seeking professional advice on that one.

not what i was hoping to hear....but not unexpected!