Short Leg Solution

I'm not a doctor but… 
Cycling injury, recovery and health issues.
Forum rules
The information / discussion in the Cycling Health Forum is not qualified medical advice. Please consult your doctor.

Short Leg Solution

Postby Tazzy » Sat Dec 10, 2011 3:41 pm

Since installing the for/aft adapter plates to my Speedplay Zeros I have noticed a distinct reaching feeling with my right leg and a slight niggle developing which I suspect is related to ITB. I have triple checked my cleat placement and both cleats are aligned perfectly equal on both shoes. After a little research and investigation I'm pretty sure that the root of the problem is my right leg being shorter than my left, made more obvious when I moved my cleats further back with the extenders. I know that the best solution to this problem is probably putting shims under my right shoe but it's not an option until I can get my hands on some and investigate exactly how much shorter the leg is. I've read that moving the cleat forward on the shorter leg can be a solution but I'm wondering if lowering my seat could be a better option. Anyone have a similar experience or words of wisdom for me before I begin tinkering?
Cheers,
Taz
Tazzy

by BNA » Sat Dec 10, 2011 4:20 pm

BNA

Re: Short Leg Solution

Postby sumgy » Sat Dec 10, 2011 4:20 pm

This would probably get you more answers if you put this question in Cycling Health.
However, Speedplay's have a significantly lower stack height than other pedal systems and you could find yourself needing to lower you saddle significantly as a result.
The human body is not symmetrical and as a result, too high a saddle will see you "challenging" one side of your body to reach the bottom of the pedal stroke.
This will in turn put that side of your body in stress and can lead to injury such as you are starting to find.

As always I recommend that you take a look at Steve Hogg and set up your bike via his method.

Read these topics in this order: