Calories used cycling

I'm not a doctor but… 
Cycling injury, recovery and health issues.
Forum rules
The information / discussion in the Cycling Health Forum is not qualified medical advice. Please consult your doctor.

Calories used cycling

Postby themerlin » Sun Jan 15, 2012 10:34 am

Hi just looking at cyclemeter and it says my ride burned over 2600 calls, seems a little high to me. The ride was just under 70ks average about 32 kph and my weight is 103kg.
Do these apps tend to overestimate cals or is that figure ok.
themerlin

by BNA » Sun Jan 15, 2012 10:56 am

BNA

Re: Calories used cycling

Postby Ozkaban » Sun Jan 15, 2012 10:56 am

Usually these things are complete fantasy. According to my android app, I burn about 33 cal/km. if it's a flat ride it's about double what my garmin 500 suggests (using the HRM, but still guess work), if it's very hilly it's still about 20% over.

I don't really trust the garmin in this respect, and the 'speed/distance' based ones are not even on the same planet...

Cheers,
Dave
Ozkaban

Postby Phil » Mon Jan 16, 2012 2:32 pm

From a vague distant memory the equation for cycling cals burned is based on the METS which is basically a multiplier for your base metabolic rate based upon the degree of effort involved, pretty sure the ones commonly used for cycling relate to steel bikes without gears from 1950 odd era.

You can pretty much halve what they say and it will be close enough.
Phil

Postby BarryTas » Mon Jan 16, 2012 2:36 pm

themerlin wrote:Hi just looking at cyclemeter and it says my ride burned over 2600 calls, seems a little high to me. The ride was just under 70ks average about 32 kph and my weight is 103kg.

depends on your HR and your HR zones
when do we stop for coffee???

BarryTas

Postby Alex Simmons/RST » Mon Jan 16, 2012 2:54 pm