Pre/Post Nutrition - Cycling

I'm not a doctor but… 
Cycling injury, recovery and health issues.
Forum rules
The information / discussion in the Cycling Health Forum is not qualified medical advice. Please consult your doctor.

Pre/Post Nutrition - Cycling

Postby Addictr3 » Thu Jan 26, 2012 6:12 pm

This topic always pops up between a group of mates, so was after what you do for PRE/POST Nutrition?

I think supplements are a waste of time :evil: , I mean, a good multi is always handy for backup; but walk into any Sports/Fitness shop and see all the products designed for that "Post workout Window" is just annoying. What happen to good old food?

Also, pre-workout supplements are big for Weight lifters, any cyclist use them?

Discuss!
If you can't explain it simply, then you don't understand it well enough.
Addictr3

by BNA » Thu Jan 26, 2012 6:23 pm

BNA

Re: Pre/Post Nutrition - Cycling

Postby trailgumby » Thu Jan 26, 2012 6:23 pm

Pasta the night before a race, Weetbix an hour or so before the start, a gel 10 minutes before the flag drops and that's it for pre- for me. Post ride, 600ml of skim milk and milo, plus a piece of fruit usually. The latter has the Joe Friel and Steve Hogg seal of approval. :mrgreen:

I donlt do the pasta for midweek training rides, ever, and I watch the carbs during the taper week - very easy to stack on a couple of kg if you're not careful.
"People have a right to their own opinions, but not their own facts. Evidence must be located, not created, and opinions not backed by evidence cannot be given much weight." -- James W Loewen

http://www.facebook.com/Drive2WorkDay
trailgumby

Postby Addictr3 » Thu Jan 26, 2012 6:47 pm

trailgumby wrote:Pasta the night before a race, Weetbix an hour or so before the start, a gel 10 minutes before the flag drops and that's it for pre- for me. Post ride, 600ml of skim milk and milo, plus a piece of fruit usually. The latter has the Joe Friel and Steve Hogg seal of approval. :mrgreen: